Laptop will not POST test ;(

Discussion in 'Computers' started by savantuk, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. savantuk

    savantuk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Cumbria, Lake district UK
    Hi,

    My laptop has expired! It switches on, the HD begins to spin, and then it stops.

    Terminal??

    It's an IBM T60.

    I'd appreciate any ideas.
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,476
    Likes Received:
    16,960
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    if it gets far enough try booting in safe mode.

    but by the sound of it, its not even getting to boot mode.:Sad:
     
  3. Molls-Phot

    Molls-Phot Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Had this happen with my MacBook Pro. Logic board kaputten! Would have cost circa £250 but they replaced it for free although not under guarantee.
     
  4. savantuk

    savantuk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Cumbria, Lake district UK
    Correct, it's not getting to boot mode, so I can't even start it in safe mode:(
     
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi

    Same thing happened to my 10 month old Sony .. HD was stuffed, replaced under warranty ..

    jim
     
  6. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Ipswich
    I think and I might be wrong here, but if it won't do POST then its the MB not the HD as the POST is built-in to ROM on the board.

    Olley
     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,476
    Likes Received:
    16,960
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    the graphics board on my desktop is shot.
    it boots to the point where it should start the graphics then clicks and shuts down the HD.
     
  8. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,155
    Location:
    Macclesfield

    Pull the battery just in case that is tripping the power supply.

    The good news is that laptops have never been cheaper.
     
  9. savantuk

    savantuk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Cumbria, Lake district UK
    Hi Brian,

    I've just tried it, but still FUBAR'd:Rofl1:
     
  10. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,155
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Welcome to the club. Mine died earlier this year. I stripped it but it was impossible to trace the the power supply - bits all over the motherboard. That was 3 years old and £1K and to replace it £300.

    But you are not dead yet - is this any use:

    http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-62465

    Is there any sign of life after it shuts down or might it just be the power supply ?
     
  11. SadGeek

    SadGeek Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Midlings
    Do you get any error at all, or just a blank screen?

    Try getting the laptop to re-recognise the hard drive. Remove the hard drive *completely* from the laptop (should be screw-accessible underneath or from the side, beneath a plastic panel). Power it up without the hard drive in, letting it get as far as it can. Remove power, reinsert the hard drive, and power back up again. If you're really lucky the drive will be recognised and you'll be able to boot.

    If a miracle does happen, make a copy of anything that's dear to you, as it is likely to fail again :Sad:
     
  12. savantuk

    savantuk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Cumbria, Lake district UK
    Hi,

    Nothing at all on the screen. I did as you suggested, and removed the HDD.

    Still nop luck.:cry:
     
  13. sinbad1

    sinbad1 Deleted User

    I assume you get no beeps and no error messages ?

    Have you removed the battery and used mains only as previously suggested ?

    Could be a power supply self test issue if there is a problem there then your lappy will power off to protect the system.
     
  14. savantuk

    savantuk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Cumbria, Lake district UK
    Just tried it, but no joy. Thanks anyway.
     
  15. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    Has the boot sequence been changed in the bios? Switch on and hold f1 (i think) to get into the setup and make sure that it is booting from the hard drive
     
  16. meanders

    meanders Funster - Life Member Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    318
    Location:
    Ipswich, Suffolk
    I don't know this machine, but if you can pop the case and get to the motherboard (Possibly needs special tools), look for a button battery (often a CR2032) and change it. On some models, the bootstrap is on a CMOS which needs at least some power. For the price of a battery its worth the effort. However you would have to reset all the BIOS settings.

    You could also try (carefully) removing the main CPU and any peripheral cards etc. It should then POST. If it does, your CPU has had it but you might find a replacement cheap.

    Robin
     
  17. des

    des Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south staffs
    my netbook failed recently. no boot, no nothing, just a quiet whirring sound. turned out to be a bios fault, which i discovered after google research. had to download some software onto a memory stick, then use a special startup sequence. worked for me. unlikely to be your problem, but you never know.

    des
     
  18. acdcdave

    acdcdave Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    75
    The trouble with laptops

    Doug

    What you normally have to do is get into the machine and disconnect everything except the motherboard/processor, one stick of RAM and the power supply. If this all works the machine should POST with two beeps. POST problems often come up with various characteristic selections of beeps or no beeps. The latter is non trivial but fixable if the expense of new M/B, processor or PS is worth it for age/capability of machine. When it then POST's you can plug in the hard drive, optical drives etc until you find and then isolate any higher level problems.

    The most important thing is you need access to a working PC so you can Google the problem and go through the excellent forums which will guide you through the options. It's usually something very basic at this level, the tricky stuff tends to happen after POST is completed. This is all fine for DESKTOPS but for laptops its a real workshop job since everything is so compressed and specialist tools are required. In the US you can find laptop spares shops and get bits but it's real tough over here. In a desktop this is all doable and is one of the reasons I would never be without a desktop or two.

    I guess you need a reliable laptop specialist to have a quick look and give you an opinion as to whether it's worth fixing.

    Good luck, Dave
     
  19. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,476
    Likes Received:
    16,960
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    more to the point......doug reported this problem over a month ago.
    do you get it resolved doug?????
     
  20. scept1c

    scept1c Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Holywood
    Hi Doug,

    I have a T60 and I also have some pdf guides to trouble shooting and the Hardware Maintenanace Manual HMM, if you send me an email with your email address I can send them to you if you like. About 7mb download.

    If you press the blue button can you get into the BIOS or do you hear any beeps. If not, you may have a problem with the display or its connection. You might like to try connecting a monitor to check.

    If you're not getting any beeps, you could try opening it to reseat the memory dimms. If you do this, make sure you ground yourself to avoid any ESD problems.
     
Loading...

Share This Page