Free Member
Jul 29, 2015
Bury Lancashire
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr E645
Exp
I'm a Newbie
I’m looking at fitting two lap belts in my habitation area of my Bessacarr e645.
A company in Stoke on Trent Tow-Tal will do it for £400.

Anyone done it.

Insurance?

Notification?

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
As Jimbo says...forward or sideways facing.

In a severe frontal impact forward could make a mess of your face if a dinette table is fitted
Sideways will make a real mess of your hips, pelvis and possibly spinal damage

Rear facing seats would be the best option for lap belts, if you really must use lap belts, as they will only hold you in the seat and wont really put any pressure on your body....just like an aeroplane seatbelt in turbulance.

There is no substitute for a proper 3 point belt...other than a 5 point harness but thats a little extreme.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Zigisla

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 24, 2015
Gosport, Hants
Funster No
MH
Sunlight A72
Exp
Getting better month by month.
Very interesting article on the website homepage about seat belts in Motorhomes. Not illegal unless your handbook states non travelling seat, but highly inadvisable

CWH

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 29, 2014
UK
Funster No
MH
WildAx PVC
Exp
From November 2013
[QUOTE="DJK, post: 1605697, member: 37365"]Bench seats each side[/QUOTE]
From @houdini 's link (my emphasis):

Motorhomes manufactured post 2006
Motorhomes manufactured after January 2006 must have at least two point safety belts for all designated seats (the driver and specified passenger still requires three point system). The seats that are ‘designated’ for travel must be identified. As in a motorcar rear passengers in motorhomes will be required to use designated seats and seat belts. Sideways seats cannot be designated as travel seats.
Sideways facing seats