Just Joined. Sat Nav Advice

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by lafayette, May 6, 2015.

  1. lafayette

    lafayette Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    cheshire
    Hi to all,

    Just bought our first Mo Ho its a Globebus i3 and are very happy with it. Been reading various threads for some time now and there is a lot of valuable advice available. Hoping to travel far and wide now that we have time on our hands as we are both retired. Can anyone advise on which sat nav is suitable for us intend to travel to France and Germany next year.
     
  2. laneside

    laneside Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    5,288
    Location:
    Oradour sur Vayres
    Not done Germany yet but we always manage to get where we are going with Tom Tom you just have to use it wisely especially in France. It seems that no matter which setting that you have it on it will insist on cutting corners off and taking you up tracks with a strip of grass up the middle or I think sometimes dried up river beds.

    Keeping an eye on it with a conventional map is something that we now find essential
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Just replaced an old TT One XL recently.. and Garmin was my choice, with full European mapping with updates for Life.. It is easy to add your own POIs .. which IMO, is probably the most important feature for motorhoming sat nav

    I chose Garmin in preference to TomTom as the new TTs at that time did not allow third party POIs.. However,I think the latest TT software now permits that.. but keep in mind

    You will get plenty more ideas and suggestions, from using a smart phone or tablet to paper map and compass.. :LOL:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5,312
    Likes Received:
    9,601
    Location:
    Glasgow
  5. gibbon

    gibbon Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    326
    Location:
    Shatterford
    We use a garmin nuvi in conjunction with maps on our iPad downloaded from maps.me
    Joanne can follow our route on the iPad & tell me when to ignore the sat nav.
    Worked well for us on the way home from Portugal last March.
     
  6. Easyliving

    Easyliving Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    1,516
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Hi Lafayette, welcome to Fun

    Satnavs are very useful things but, as Laneside said, they can lead you onto what are just narrow tracks. I mentioned our new truck satnav in this thread. You might like to think about one of these although the pricier ones - snooper etc are probably better quality.

    Paul
     
  7. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    If you have a tablet try one of the apps that are very good with constantly updated maps.
    We use Co-Pilot as it has the choice of vehicle including Motorhome, found it to be very good returning from Portugal via Spain & France recently.
    You have to buy it but for a smallish outlay it gives you a larger screen that I find easier to see in the van.
    And welcome to Fun
     
  8. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    can you add third party POIs to Snooper ?

    last I read it wasn't possible..
     
  9. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,137
    Likes Received:
    7,709
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    If you have a tablet or even a smart phone try "here maps" free download on all platforms and works without phone signal or wifi, maps all the world all for free. We have been all over France with it no problem.
     
  10. daveandsan

    daveandsan Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    1,771
    Location:
    South Staffs
    We use a snooper, you can input the size of your motorhome and it shouldn't take you down farm tracks.
     
  11. DJA

    DJA Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Kent
    Hi Lafayette

    You have immediately started your time here with a topic that will probably result in my GPS is better than your one.

    You can get GPS facilities via Mobile Phone (CoPilot app for example), Tablet and Dedicated GPS unit. The decision you should make is do I want to have all my eggs in one basket via the mobile phone.

    The cheapest options are via phone or Tablet and both can offer you virually all the same options as a dedicated unit.

    Scotjimland has covered it well and generally if you go for the dedicated units the 2 main ones are Garmin and Tomtom. There are various models offering different facilities.

    Scotjimland is correct about POI facilities being very useful both 3rd Party ones or the ability to create your own. It is true that Tomtoms very latest units did not allow you to add 3rd Party units or create your own. There has been a very recent software upgrade that has gone some way to resolve this ommision.

    These are the things you can think about when deciding which unit you want

    You can get Truck/Camper units in which you can put the sizes of your Van so that it should, I repeat should, avoid low bridges, narrow roads or weight restrictions. I have heard suggestions that they have not always got it right.

    You can get units with Lifetime Maps and Lifetime Traffic. These can be very useful in reducing the chances of the map not having new roads on and you can save time avoiding traffic delays with the Traffic facility. Now the one thing to consider here is that to get the best traffic information updated every few minutes you either buy a unit that marries to your mobile phone thus using your data allowance on the phone which can have implications if travelling abroad. There are units available that have inbuilt Sims which operated throughout Europe without you incurring any data charges.
    You have to accept that although you can free map updates quarterly some new roads can take a very long time to get incorporated. Regarding Traffic the only comment I can make that some say the Tomtom Traffic data is better than the Farmin

    At the moment there is not a lot between the Garmin an Tomtom units the latter is probably a little behind re POI's but they are catching up. To be fair Tomtom are not the quickest kid on the block so I don't know how long it will take to get fully compatiable. The bit that Is missing at the moment is to be able toadd a new POI to a POI category or create your own category at the moment on the machine. You can however use POI Edit software to do this on a PC.

    Hope the above gives you some food for thought. Just to add I have a Tomtom Go5000 but the decision is yours.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. iceni

    iceni Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    Birmingham
    I have the Garmin truck model which you can put your size ans weight or van in. It then avoids narrow roads bridges etc.
    But routing is useless on the continent. It will still avoid main roads and take you across country to save a few miles which may be OK but often the road can be quite narrow.
    So get a sat nav but also get a good paper map.

    I have yet to try one of the apps for phone or tablet.

    Phill
     
  13. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,781
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    I have to say that I have not found this (I have a Garmin 560 truck model). In France for instance, the Garmin has often tried to take me out of a town and right around the ring-road when all I wanted was to travel a kilometre across town to another aire for example. I think this is mainly because it wants to avoid 3.5 tonne limits. In practice, as you so rightly say, one has to apply common sense and make sure to read a map too. Obviously, when a minor road is the most appropriate, the Garmin will choose it (and often I have met artics using the same route!) and any satnav can only avoid roads where it has width and other such information in the map database. Not all roads have been mapped to this level and many satnavs use the same base set anyway (often Navteq). At least the Garmin warns you if it has no truck data for your chosen route.
     
  14. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,795
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
  15. Shazrick

    Shazrick Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    232
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
  16. scousebird

    scousebird Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    13,549
    Likes Received:
    20,473
    Location:
    South East Kent
    Hello :welc:
     
  17. lafayette

    lafayette Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    cheshire
    Food for thought. I will keep on researching so much to ponder. Thanks for your input.
     
  18. Momo

    Momo Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,458
    Likes Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    Valencia City, Spain
    Hi Lafayette and welcome to the Fun!:welc::party:
     
  19. ianhyslop

    ianhyslop Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    Fife
    Forget Garmin , Tom Tom or Chinese rubbish , go for the Snooper , best by far . Stand back and wait for torrent of disagreement and mild abuse while other funsters defend their inferior sat nav s .
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    no Snooper owner has answered my question..

    can you load third party POIs?

    yes or no
     
Loading...

Share This Page