Jim's wifi thingy

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by chaser, Apr 12, 2014.

  1. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,136
    Likes Received:
    7,691
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Now I suppose no one dare knock it:Doh: but is the wifi thing that Jim sells complete with aerial for about £70 any good, I see addies similer thing is£169, and on eBay set ups that look identical to Jim's are about twice as much, so has any one got Jim's thing, does it work well, cause I am looking at buying one of these things to pick up my hoped for fon signal and not worried too much on price but don't see the point in spending twice as much as I need to.:thumb:
    Thanks for any information, you can pm me if you'd rather have your feelings know on here.
     
  2. freelanderuk

    freelanderuk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    541
    Location:
    Saltfleet/Lincolnshire
    I have the router that Jim sells with a different aerial and think it works great , I have had it for about 3 years and had no problems at all , its an Alfa network R36 router
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Encantador

    Encantador Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    UK
    If anyone PM`s Chaser can you PM me too please as I am looking at the same.

    Thanks
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. pandj

    pandj Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    1,128
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Same here please.:thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,065
    Likes Received:
    13,672
    Location:
    Heavan
    Ok, I will offer as honest a review as I can on the one that Jim sells as I have one.

    First and foremost- It's neat and well delivered in a great pacakage.

    I have both the bits, the ariel and the router.

    I am no internet expert of techie but know my way around most things pretty simply.

    The set up for Jim's is very simple with the ariel. You simply plug it in to your laptop and bang your signals are boosted significantly. So much so that when I used it in ski resort, the Ariel picked up signals not available on the wifi and the campsite signal and speed was boosted drastically.

    Now the bad news. I can use it through a laptop but no matter how much I try, I can not for the life of me get the router set up. I have followed instructions word for word and it goes through all the processe's that it says it should but refuses to connect the Ipad, Galaxy Tab laptop PC or Galaxy phones through it. There seems little explanation but I hope to have it with me at Chester if anyone would like to have a play and show me what I am doing wrong.

    This is of course not to say it does not work but simply I am an idiot and can't set the router up properly. Once set up, if the router works as well as the ariel does on it's own then I am sure it will be a very very useful bit of kit.

    Freelander even offered to set mine up but I got carried away with something else. I will have another try with soon for sure, but just with the ariel on the laptop its ace.

    Hope that helps and will give further details after Chester.



    OH and BTW Pandaj is that a Come on You Palace in your signiture?
     
  6. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,199
    Likes Received:
    9,581
    Location:
    Dorset
    • Like Like x 1
  7. pandj

    pandj Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    1,128
    Location:
    East Sussex
     
  8. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,136
    Likes Received:
    7,691
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    For me the wireless has got to work, havnt got a laptop anymore , I have an ipad and Julie has a nexus 7, we also have phones that work on wifi but nothing we can plug in, been looking on you tube at setting them up and they seem to have to be hooked up to a laptop to do the initial setup so that's another drawback.
     
  9. freelanderuk

    freelanderuk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    541
    Location:
    Saltfleet/Lincolnshire
    I use the router with my nexus 7 , my Samsung Galaxy 4 , my HTC sensation and a Samsung 120 note book and have never had a problem connecting to it , I found that the router works very well with any
    Long range aerial with the reatek 8187L chip set and you can update the software to work with the ralink 3070 chip set, I have had connections of over a mile away with my set up and connected to many fon and unsecured networks

    To set the router up to the nexus 7 by WiFi just type 192.168.2.1 in to the address bar of your browser and login and password is admin as simple as that
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2014
  10. freelanderuk

    freelanderuk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    541
    Location:
    Saltfleet/Lincolnshire
    Paul ,
    I am wondering if it has anything to do with your browser settings when you try to set up the router, as when you type in the 192.168.2.1 in your browser address bar a login box pops up , do you have a setting turned on to stop pop ups openening
     
  11. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,136
    Likes Received:
    7,691
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Thanks but all this techo stuff is above me, but do I take it then, that although yours is slightly different all we have to do is plug Jim's in and plug the aerial in as well, type in what you say and we are away:thumb:
    In that case what can haganap be doing wrong
    Sorry posted at the same time
     
  12. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,065
    Likes Received:
    13,672
    Location:
    Heavan
    if only it were.... I have done this numerrous times with both my galaxy, my Ipad my laptop other phones.

    It simply never has a problem connecting to the router, the problem comes with the router connecting to the wireless networks available.
     
  13. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    Jim's wifi thingy is called Sian and very nice she is too:Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. freelanderuk

    freelanderuk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    541
    Location:
    Saltfleet/Lincolnshire
    If you want to give me a ring ,pm for my number
     
  15. jockaneezer

    jockaneezer Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    3,058
    Location:
    Cumbria
  16. freelanderuk

    freelanderuk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    541
    Location:
    Saltfleet/Lincolnshire
    Yes, its a directional Ariel
     
  17. JohnH

    JohnH Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    888
    Location:
    Southport
    I bought the complete unit at the Manchester Show. The only problem I had was differentiating between setting up the received signal settings and the output settings from the router.
    I did eventually set it up with an iPad Mini. As was said previously type in 192.168.1.1 having previously connected in the iPad settings to the device name which is on a label with the password.
    It is now set up and both my wife and I have our phones, pads etc set up to automatically connect when "within range". The only future connection is to the remote site, whether it is McDonalds, site wifi or wherever.
    I was under the impression that the Motorhome Wifi had an amended browser page to simplify the whole procedure.
    Perhaps that question should be put to Addie?
     
Loading...

Share This Page