Is some history of damp to be expected? (1 Viewer)

Mar 23, 2017
Chudleigh, Devon
Funster No
MH
Compass Avantgarde 2
Exp
Im a newbie
I've spoken to a private seller on the phone about a 51 plate Compass Avantgarde 200.

He told me that when he bought the van 2 years ago he had a hab test done and Signs of damp were found at:

Front corner above over cab bed
Inside awning fixings
Inside bike rack fixings

He said it was all fixed by resealling where needed and cost about £200 at a motorhome repairer.

Obviously before I spend a penny I'll ask him for another test but just wanted to know whether a van that is 16 years old is reasonable to have some history of damp at some point?

Is it worth me travelling an hour to see it or should I run away now?

Thanks

R

Robert Clark

Deleted User
A history of damp is NOT to be expected

I'd never buy a van that had ever been damp

A recipe for potential disaster

Last edited by a moderator:

normanandsue

Free Member
Dec 31, 2010
Dunfermline - Scotland
Funster No
MH
van conversion
Exp
Since 2007
I would think a mh that is 16 years old could have a history of damp, (even new ones can have damp problems), the fact he has been up front with you and told you is perhaps a good sign. If the mh is what you want then go and see it, look for damp signs in the places he has told you about, (have a poke and see if there is damp still present) ask to see the invoices for the work done and if you are still keen to buy ask for a habitation check to be done and see what turns up. If signs of damp are shown up then, depending what they are you will have to reconsider.

Damp problems can be solved at a cost, if you are keen on the mh and it does have damp problems get a quote for the work to be rectified and make sure this is reflected in the sale price. I bought a mh that had a damp problem and because I factored it into my negotiations bought then mh, had it professionally repaired and eventually sold it on without making a loss.