Is my LNB kaput

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by mfh27748, Aug 24, 2011.

  1. mfh27748

    mfh27748 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    essex/london
    currently camped at evesham no freeview signal courtesey of trees ,so went out and bought a Grundig freesat HD box,havent used the sat this year, so i set it up, no signal
    reaching old or new boxes yet showing good strength on sat finder,whats the cause,Help!!
     
  2. artona

    artona

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,480
    Likes Received:
    690
    Location:
    Europe
    If there is no sat signal neither freesat or anything else will work. Are you pointing the signal finder exactly on the same elevation/direction as the dish?
     
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Even when you get a strong signal trees can interfere with getting a picture .. I've had this often and moving a few feet can resolve ..

    Either that or you are on the wrong satellite
     
  4. artona

    artona

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,480
    Likes Received:
    690
    Location:
    Europe
    :Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:I remember a fellow motorhomer playing with his oyster for ages. He had 100% signal but no programs and yes you are right Jim, he had 100% astra1 :Laughing::Laughing:

    Luckily I spotted the Astra1 icon was lit, pressed the astra2 button and it tuned in just as the music for eastenders was playing. Fortunately it was the music at the start of the program otherwise I think his wife would have stuck his oyster somewhere non of us want to think about :Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
  5. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    As said you'r probably on the wrong sat.
    Just lower the dish a fraction & turn slowly to the East & you will find Astra 2.
     
  6. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,321
    Likes Received:
    7,576
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    DO NOT rely on signal strength alone.. Like others have said you may be pointing at the wrong satellite, getting interference etc etc.
    You need to look at the on screen display and see that you have some "signal quality".
     
  7. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Useful tool for finding the correct elevation and azimuth angles

    Satellite Finder / Dish Pointing Calculator with Google Maps
    just enter your location ... street name, post code or gps co-ords.

    http://www.dishpointer.com/
     
  8. mfh27748

    mfh27748 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    essex/london
    Been speaking with other campers here it would seem that this part of evesham is a

    blackhole for TV rececption of all types ,thanks very much for your replies
     
  9. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    never encountered a 'black hole' for sat reception.. and I've used from Morocco to the N of Scotland and all places in between and always found a satellite of one description or the other although some were not fit for kiddies... :Laughing:

    so don't give up... check again..

    * your line of sight is either partially or wholly blocked
    * you have the wrong angle or azimuth settings , double check using the sat finder link I gave.

    * your on the wrong satellite ..
    * poor connection on the plug at the LNB or box
    * box needs tuning
     
Loading...

Share This Page