Is length an issue or hinderence? (1 Viewer)

jaykay

Free Member
Aug 19, 2011
North Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
Rapido 997M Auto
Exp
Virtually none ! :)
I'm looking at buying a new motorhome in the new year (fingers crossed) and like some pretty big motorhomes around 8.2m.

Is something this length an issue driving around? I'm a confident driver with good senses, but never driven anything of this length.

I dont want to not drive it because its not practical.

Thoughts?

mjltigger

Free Member
Nov 12, 2014
Trowbridge
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Dakota Max
Exp
My experience is that length in itself isn't the issue. Longer means taking corners wider and being aware of the behaviour of your back wheels. The issue I think makes driving some motorhomes hard is overhang. That's the tail that whips round and hits something when you aren't watching.. it is one of the reasons we chose a van conversion not a coachbuilt

Upvote 0

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
Plenty have 8m MHs.

But obviously there will be places you can't park and work around this.

You'll pay a bit more for tolls and ferries.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Mousy

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 13, 2013
Sa15 2DG
Funster No
MH
Hymer S840 Merc auto
Exp
Since 2013
It's not so much the driving as the parking.
I often see motorhomes at our beach or supermarket car park but I've never seen a van there bigger than 6.5 to 7 mts.

Some sites don't allow vans over 8 mts.

However, I think it depends where you are planning on going and how you are going to use your van/beast.

Upvote 0

Snowbird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2009
Liverpool.
Funster No
MH
Fifth wheel.
Exp
Since 11-05-2000
Am now running at 7.6 metres and have never had a problem even with a trailer. Have owned RVs in the past and never had a problem with size either. There is no substitute for size when long terming.

Upvote 0

Puddleduck

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 15, 2014
Scottish Borders
Funster No