Free Member
Aug 4, 2016
Reading, UK
Funster No
MH
Just curious
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all - I've been a longtime lurker, but first time poster, it's time for me to say hello!

I have recently taken a job working just outside of Reading in Berkshire, and whilst the job is enjoyable, the office base is rather far away from my (mortgaged) home in Cardiff. I am currently lodging near the office Monday-Thursday, however the prospect of living in a motorhome seems a tempting idea, as well as serving as an interim office when I fancy working from the beach!

I'm currently 25 and stand at around 6ft 3 - I will be driving the motorhome around 260 miles per week (round trip to the office). I will most likely be using the MH as a Daily Driver in the week (so sub 6m would be nice), however all amenities including shops would be in walking distance of the office.

The two questions I pose to you lovely guys and gals:
1) Is this a sensible idea?
2) Can you recommend any motorhomes that would fit my need? I like the Hymer Van 314, but it's rather pricey - PVCs seem a better option, however my height doesn't appear to fit most specifications.

I realise I am asking for the moon on a stick, however this forum always appears receptive and welcoming to newcomers wishing to join the fold!

Thank you for your help :)

MC 55 FUN

Free Member
Feb 18, 2016
Rural South West Wales.
Funster No
MH
2015 Majestic 195
Exp
Since 20th Feb' 2016
:hiya2: & :welcome3::):)

One observation I would make is that your fuel costs are likely to be high & factor in the toll bridge entry costs to Wales on the M4

Upvote 0
Feb 22, 2014
Grantham
Funster No
MH
Rapido Le Randonneur
Exp
Since 2015
Hi there, high fuel costs versus rent.....

I would look for a cheap Motorhome to start with. See if you like it.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
D

Deleted member 29692

Deleted User
Also you will need to research where you can park it during the week.