irish tv

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by laser101uk, Aug 22, 2013.

  1. laser101uk

    laser101uk Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    hi

    I am picking up Irish TV here in North Wales on my freeview but my TV says video format not supported. I have sound just no picture. I assume this means i when I go to Ireland then my British TV will not display Irish TV. does anyone know a work around for this? and does an Irish Tele display both UK and British channels or just Irish?

    cheers

    Steve
     
  2. cmcardle75

    cmcardle75 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Reading
    Irish TV uses a more recent codec. The workaround is to buy a Freeview HD set top box or PVR. Freeview HD uses the more recent codec also. As well as Irish standard definition, this will also enable you to receive high definition DVB-T2 transmissions in the UK.

    I would guess that an Irish TV will support the older codec and would work in the UK, but that is only a guess. It might not support DVB-T2, so might not get High Definition in the UK.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. quickweh

    quickweh Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Hollywood, Birmingham.
    My post on this.

    I posted recently on this and experienced exactly the same, sound but no vision. The quoted text below was lifted off a website selling Avtex TVs

    If you need TV in southern Ireland you will need an Irish set top box for Irish programmes or a satellite set up to view UK TV. See below for explanation.

    " Republic of Ireland Digital TV Switch Over

    In October 2012 the R.O.I. turned off Analogue Terrestrial TV Broadcasts and therefore now only have a Digital TV service. The Broadcast Standard chosen by the Irish Authorities is different to the rest of Europe and as such any Standard Definition TV's bought in the UK or else where in Europe will not work in Ireland.

    You can watch British and European programmes via satellite whilst in R.O.I. but not RTE.

    If you have a normal TV and want to watch Irish Broadcasters such as RTE then you will need to purchase an Irish set top box in Ireland. Their equivalent to Freeview is called Saorview."
     
  4. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,759
    Likes Received:
    7,774
    Location:
    Flintshire

    Sounds like getting back to the 'Irish Jokes' scenario, i.e.

    What do you call an Irish TV that you can't see.? A Radio:Rofl1:
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Norfolk Red
    Replies:
    39
    Views:
    993
  2. colyboy
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    445
  3. Jaws
    Replies:
    25
    Views:
    1,024
  4. Timcropp
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    231
  5. stcyr
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    736

Share This Page