iPad being silly about location

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Daveg, Jul 4, 2014.

  1. Daveg

    Daveg Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    Perthshire
    This week I have been told by the thing that I am in Benidorm, somewhere in the Atlantic to the West of São Tomé and Príncipe and at the London Eye. The last is the only one I have been to, which is by the by as I have actually been in the Netherlands for weeks.

    I have reset location settings a couple of times (as suggested by Apple) and end up in the Atlantic again.

    My iPhone behaves fine.

    I infer it is something to do with wifi since the ipad doesn't have 3G, whilst I have turned on data roaming on the phone and assume it checks where it is using cellular.

    I have used four different wifi sources during the week, all of which offer the grand tour of everywhere I'm not.

    Can anyone help?

    Ta

    Dave
     
  2. timdownieuk

    timdownieuk Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    326
    Location:
    Ayr
    Stop worrying about it. :LOL: I mean, you know where you are so why worry about your ipad being a bit confused.

    Tim
     
  3. Puddleduck

    Puddleduck Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    6,478
    Likes Received:
    13,812
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Unless you are using a sat nav app!

    My Galaxy thought I was in Suffolk this morning.....
     
  4. timdownieuk

    timdownieuk Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    326
    Location:
    Ayr
    A wifi only iPad isn't going to be much use for navigation surely?
     
  5. Scotties

    Scotties Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    164
    Location:
    Norfolk
    The GPS chip is only in the 3G version. The WiFi-only version doesn't include GPS, the user’s longitude and latitude are determined based on their proximity to known Wi-Fi networks on these devices. So, location services on this model depend on the connection to a WiFi network.

    A upgrade to the 3G version is the only way.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Puddleduck

    Puddleduck Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    6,478
    Likes Received:
    13,812
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    I stand (or rather sit) corrected.......
     
  7. phase3begins

    phase3begins Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    Nr Whitby
    Apple has database that is updated from the wifi signal you are using. This only gets updated over 3G.
    If you tether your ipad to your iphone it will eventually get registered by apple.
    Or than again, as other folk have said, you know where you are so enjoy the trip
     
  8. Aikidomo

    Aikidomo Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    ESSEX
    What part of Suffolk? I don't live far from there ,,,,,,pop around.
     
  9. Puddleduck

    Puddleduck Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    6,478
    Likes Received:
    13,812
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Would do but it tells me to go straight across at the junction and that would mean going through the hedge and wall and into the river........ :rofl:

    Think I will just use a map until it starts behaving again.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page