Inverter Problem

Discussion in 'American RV's' started by ruffingitsmoothly, Apr 21, 2008.

  1. ruffingitsmoothly

    ruffingitsmoothly Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    West of Southampton edge
    Hi just back today from Ireland after 2 weeks had areally good time met some great people and had a few Guiness':drink::drink:

    The only problem we had was last night having arrived in Rosslare to catch this mornings ferry tried to swich on the inverter the green light came on and it bleeped but got no power to the sockets! We have been on hook up all week and the charger part of the inverter seems to be working ok, haven't had a chance to look at it today as we only arrived home at 6pm but did check the inverter in the locker last night and swiched the manual swich on and off and checked all connections!

    I believe that it is a Trace Legend Inverter.

    Now can any of you learned people point me in the right direction?

    Regards Pat
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2008
  2. martyn

    martyn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Chelmsford,Essex
    Wecome home Pat, hope you had a good
    time. Can't help you with the electrics if it
    was a V8 problem, maybe !!!!!!!:Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
  3. ruffingitsmoothly

    ruffingitsmoothly Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    West of Southampton edge
    Thanks Martyn I knew I could rely on you mate:Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:

    [​IMG]

    Regards Pat
     
  4. TJ-RV

    TJ-RV Deleted User

    In addition to circuit breakers on the outside of the inverter, have you checked any GFI (ground fault interrupters) inside the motorhome?

    I don't know what motorhome you have, or what it might have for ground (earth) fault protection. Here in the U.S., a GFI is incorporated into a duplex (double socket outlet) at each potentially wet location, e.g. the galley, bathroom, near a washing machine. Sometimes they're hard to find and I've even seen them hidden inside cupboards. Another sneaky hiding place is in the basement.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 22, 2008
  5. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    2,107
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi Pat simple things first, check 12v supply into the inverter, you may have a large fuse in this line 300-400amps, next check the outgoing 110 at the inverter if possible.


    Olley
     
  6. ruffingitsmoothly

    ruffingitsmoothly Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    West of Southampton edge
    Hi Olley

    Thanks for that I will be having a good look at it this weekend.

    One thing did spring to mind is that about 3 or 4 weeks ago when I moved the Monaco I did notice that the inverter was switched on and working as my dehumidifier was still working after disconnecting the hook up! However when I tried to switch the inverter off by the remote switch it wouldn't but I did switch it off by using the manual switch on the unit itself. I switched it back on and then everything seemed normal as it would switch on and off by the remote switch on inside the RV!

    Does this give any pointers?

    Regards Pat
     
  7. Thepips

    Thepips Trade Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    We have a similarly recalcitrant inverter. Sometimes it won't turn on no matter what I do and sometimes it'll turn on if I press the remote button a couple of dozen times. It ALWAYS seems to come on if I get fed up of waiting and start the generator instead. I'm pretty certain that ours is a Trace as well, maybe standard fitment on Monacos? I think it's supposed to be auto-sensing so perhaps try it again with a device turned on?

    Best of luck

    Regards
    Doug
     
  8. TJ-RV

    TJ-RV Deleted User

    The inverter on our boat occasionally goes into a lockout condition. When this happens, the only thing that will get it to work is to disconnect the 12V to the inverter (it has a separate battery bank) and the shore power. Turning them both back on returns the inverter to its normal state.

    If this happened on my Monaco, I'd turn off the house battery switch and unplug the shore power.

    Haven't taken the time to call the inverter manufacturer to understand why. (FWIW most of the inverter companies, including Trace and Heart, are now owned by Xantrex.)
     
  9. ruffingitsmoothly

    ruffingitsmoothly Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    West of Southampton edge
    Well got home from work an hour earlier than expected so thought that I would investigate this inverter problem.

    First checked all fuses/switches they were fine so unscrewed the remote switch panel to look behind and found it to be a sealed unit! then slid out the locker tray to get access to the inverter through the locker checked that there was 12 volts on the main leads coming in found no power coming out! So then decided to remove the inverter cover not easy in such a confined space could see nothing wrong in there so put everthing back together thinking that a new inverter was required.

    Went into the Monaco and sat bemused so just out of curiosity tried the inverter again guess what the bloody thing worked!!

    I have switched it on and off several times now and seems ok! I suppose that is until I need to use it again!!!!:Angry::Angry:

    Thanks for all the tips I wish I knew what cured it or what the problem was so I could share it with you so here's till next time.

    Regards Pat
     
  10. TJ-RV

    TJ-RV Deleted User

    Pat,

    You're now the resident inverter expert :BigGrin:
     
  11. PeteH

    PeteH Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    2,178
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Inverter(s)

    Hi

    Inverters are just a collection of (oversized) electronics, I have found that switching electronic stuff OFF waitng a few (seconds/minutes) and switching back on sometimes does do the trick, I suspect that its because some components (like say capacitors) "hold" onto switching voltages and they only release it when the voltage drops back to zero? In the (very) old days of Valve Radio, you could get a nasy "belt" from a disconected set, if you did not "discharge" some of the big capacitors to earth first, usually with the (insulated) screwdriver!!.

    any way its a theory!!!

    pete
     
  12. ruffingitsmoothly

    ruffingitsmoothly Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    West of Southampton edge
    Problem with the inverter again it is only giving approx 55 volts instead of 110 volts is there a trip/trips that can knock out 1/2 of the inverter? Batteries are fully charged and showing 12.8 volts at the input to the inverter.

    Its Trace Legend inverter as fitted from new.

    Any ideas any one?

    Regards Pat
     
  13. Thepips

    Thepips Trade Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Hi Pat,
    Not wanting to teach anyone to suck eggs but 55v makes me think you might be using the wrong scale on your multi-meter:Smile:
    AC goes from -55v to +55v. I'd check it to see if you're on the AC scale.
    My inverter remote switch is exactly the same as yours. I've found it quicker and easier to go out and switch the inverter on manually.

    Regards
    Doug
     
  14. ruffingitsmoothly

    ruffingitsmoothly Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    West of Southampton edge
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2008

Share This Page