inverter and ehu switch over

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by lee52, Jan 25, 2014.

  1. lee52

    lee52 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    tyne and wear
    hi guys and gals I have started the rewire of the ole bus hab electrics

    I want to have an inverter so tv etc... can be used when wild camping and traveling. is the normal setup even when hooked up on site u would still use the inverter to run the v etc..(charging hab batteries from ehu) I know you can get auto switch over units so when you plug in to ehu it isolates the inverter or do u just have some sockets wired to inverter and some wired to ehu

    Or is there an easier way ( the auto switch over units i have seen are v expensive marine shore power jobbies) Ideally would like a system where I dont have to be swapping plugs about etc...
     
  2. WynandJean

    WynandJean Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,379
    Likes Received:
    1,339
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Wouldn't a 12v TV be a better option?

    Wyn
     
    • Like Like x 3
  3. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,141
    Likes Received:
    16,407
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    The 12 volt TV would be the best option, along with 12 volt chargers for laptop and phones.
    If you must have an inverter for the microwave and hair straighteners then its best to have all sockets wired to the inverter. My RMB came with a pure sine wave inverter wired into the system with all sockets hotwired to the inverter. There is two remote switches that have to be thrown before the inverter will work.
    The simplest solution was on my old Rockwood where after the hookup there was a double socket with a 3 pin plug, one for mains and one wired to the inverter. To use the inverter I had to physically take the 3 pin plug out of one socket and put it in the other. This way there was no chance of having the inverter wired up when on hookup.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,070
    Likes Received:
    13,681
    Location:
    Heavan
    I have to agree that a 12v tv would be best.

    However I have a inverter wired in to the sockets using a relay...

    If you search for Techno100 and look at his posts, he has produced a very useful photographic diagramme of how to do this :thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Popeye

    Popeye Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7,722
    Likes Received:
    16,959
    Location:
    New Forest
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2014
    • Like Like x 1
  6. lee52

    lee52 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    tyne and wear
    so tv wise what tvs are 12v dont want to buy a "motorhome one" as with things of his nature as soon as you put mh in the title the price doubles lol
    so what domestic tvs come with the external psu?

    cheers Lee
     
  7. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,864
    Likes Received:
    14,526
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2014
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,864
    Likes Received:
    14,526
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Installed
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,864
    Likes Received:
    14,526
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Present version
    [​IMG]
     
  10. oldflemo

    oldflemo Funster

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2,165
    Likes Received:
    634
    Location:
    Redcar- N.Yorkshire
    Hi Techno while I very much appreciate all the excellent information provided by your good self on here being a simple civil engineer I find I do things much better if I have a drawing to work to even if it is a simple line diagram showing the components and their relationship to each other. I understand what you stated stated in a previous post about anyone with a sufficient level of competence being able to follow the information provided in your photographs but when going to carry out the work of installing panels,inverter and the kit they require at a location without power or internet connection I would very much appreciate having a diagram which I could print off to follow.
    Thank you in anticipation
    Ian:thumb::thumb:
     
  11. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,864
    Likes Received:
    14,526
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2014
  12. buckby

    buckby

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    nottinghamshire
    we bought an £80 tv from currys it is led and we have run it for two years up to now easy to put on a bracket as the box it came in was heavier than the telly if you look at them at currys just look on the back of the telly and it will say 12 volt input
     
  13. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,864
    Likes Received:
    14,526
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Yes but you cant run a haidrier toaster and kettle can you :Laughing:
     
  14. oldflemo

    oldflemo Funster

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2,165
    Likes Received:
    634
    Location:
    Redcar- N.Yorkshire
  15. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,864
    Likes Received:
    14,526
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    They are the terminal numbers on the RS relay

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2014
  16. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,864
    Likes Received:
    14,526
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
  17. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,864
    Likes Received:
    14,526
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
  18. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,864
    Likes Received:
    14,526
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Just found this in my gallery
    My relay installed on a Niesmann & Bischoff
    Same set up as mine with 1800watt sterling
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2014
  19. lee52

    lee52 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    tyne and wear
    Cheers techno100 such a simple and easy solution to what I was after its one of them things when when you see it, its a doh why didnt I think of it, lol
     
  20. treetops1

    treetops1 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    993
    Location:
    yorkshire
    O I understand now.:Doh::Doh::cry:
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page