Aug 4, 2016
Reading, UK
Funster No
MH
Just curious
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello Funsters!

After much deliberation (and help in a previous thread) - I've decided to take the plunge and convert a panel-van into mid-week accommodation whilst working away from home. When I acquire the base vehicle, I'll probably start a progress-build-thread, more to keep myself on track than anything.....

The first hurdle, and probably biggest deciding factor, is base vehicle. We all know bigger is better, however this van will be my only vehicle and I will be using it to stealth camp in the week. I'm a tall chap (6ft 4), and I don't fancy being perpetually on my knees, so a tall van is probably required. My shortlist is:

Fiat Ducato LWB Super High Roof/Citroen Relay L3H3 - 2172mm load height, 1870 max load width
Ford Transit L3 (Long) H3 - 2125mm load height, 1784 max load width

Which would you recommend Funsters? Whilst the Sevel van is typically used for conversions, I've heard bad things about reliability; you can typically fix a transit with a hammer and some WD40....

My budget is £7,000 (£9,000 if a dealer takes p/x on a car)

Thank you :)

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
What sort of layout are you planning? You could do a transverse bed in a Fiat but it won't accommodate your full 6'4" length however you could sleep in it diagonally which would.

I'd say stick with Fiat/Peaugeot/Citroen as they have a straighter body so will be easier to fit out, found this one on autotrader not a million miles from you which seems a good price but is the L3H2, not L3H3 so not sure if it will be tall enough.

Broken Link Removed

Upvote 0

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp