internet when abroad (yet again)

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by jacken, Nov 5, 2008.

  1. jacken

    jacken Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    kent
    Hi,

    Having just returned from 5 months abroad, I found internet access a right pain in the neck. Now--we met people on our travels who used a unlocked dongle. Whatever country they were in, they just bought a pay as you go sim card for the best network and topped it up as required. This got around doing it in the UK and getting clobbered for the roaming charges. This is what I am thinking of going for when we head off again shortly. Any comments very welcome.

    ken
     
  2. ronald4874

    ronald4874 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Poole Dorset
    Ron & Marj

    Just returned from 2.5 months in Spain & France. You are right Internet can be difficult, some of the campsite we visited were online but did find the local libraries had a free service for your own L/T also the 'Moneygram' shops excepted your L/T on their line at about 1E per 30 mins.
     
  3. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,826
    Likes Received:
    76,096
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    This has got to be the way to go Alden Netmaster High Speed internet and Eastenders anywhere in Europe :Smile:
     
  4. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,529
    Likes Received:
    25,646
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    Free wi-fi at MacDonalds...

    I think you will find that MacDonalds have free wi-fi access in their restaurants. I know they have in the UK and Portugal and I am, at this very moment, using the Poitiers restaurant to post this...
     
  5. Rapide561

    Rapide561 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    164
    Location:
    Leeds and Lake Garda
    Data overseas

    Hi

    I have an unlocked datacard - so similar to a Dongle. I also have a WIND Italian SM card for internet access - 155.it - Area Clienti

    Italy is very much "ahead" in way of SIM access for the net. Some European countries do not offer the service. Here is a link that may assist.

    Russell

    PrePaidGSM.net
     
  6. Braunston

    Braunston Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi, Russell

    You may want to check out "3" as from what i have been told there dongle works in Italy and so apparently does there phone, for the same rates as in the UK



     
  7. jacken

    jacken Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    kent
    I agree with you Jim but it's the high initial outlay plus the subscription, especially if you already have a satellite system on your van. With the unlocked Dongle, you just buy a pay as you go sim card in each country you visit (except France, Who like the UK, have you stuffed on the charges) then top it up with credits like you do a phone. It is a lot cheaper than the Alden system.

    Only draw backs as far as I can see are that you end up with a sim card for each country plus you have to be in range of the signal. But where you can pick up a phone signal, you will get the internet.

    cheers.

    ken
     
  8. Rapide561

    Rapide561 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    164
    Location:
    Leeds and Lake Garda
    Net access

    Hello

    I do have a THREE dongle now but have not taken it to Italy - yet!

    Russell
     
  9. Bulletguy

    Bulletguy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cheshire/Staffs
    Mate of mine whose always nipping off down to Spain uses McDonalds. You won't find him paying for an internet connection....anywhere!!
     
  10. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    So McDonalds are giving their food away are they, not surprised.
     
  11. 2escapees

    2escapees Deleted User

    This seems a good idea.. so all I need is a pay as you go dongle how do you then get it unlocked?
     
  12. EzeeRider

    EzeeRider Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    48
    Will a pay as you go T-Mobile dongle work. I only need occasional access and if I cannot find a free WiFi wondered if it would work????

    EzeeRider
     
  13. jacken

    jacken Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    kent
    You need an unlocked dongle. I bought mine from ebay (there is one on there at this moment for £50.00 from the same place I bought mine.) It is unlocked, meaning it will work with any pay as you go sim card just like an unlocked phone. You get free sim cards with the dongle but for use in this country only but at least you can check if it works. I set mine up and it does work.

    Then when you are in Germany for example, you just buy a pay as you go sim card, put credit on it and away you go. When you move to another country, you just repeat the proccess. They won't work in france apparently, they want to tie you in with charges etc. but any-other contry will work.

    See this link and read the coloured FAQs: Damm--I don't know how to put a link in.

    Go to ebay-type: unlocked dongle and selected the dongle in the box from a seller name Charlottefox. I got mine the next day. Don't forget to scroll down and read the FAQs

    Hope this helps. Ken
     
  14. Braunston

    Braunston Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi, Jacken

    Thanks for the information do you need a telephone number to dial when you use a PAYG Sim from Germany etc, like you use to need here when we had dial up Internet, also do you have any idea of the cost per minute or per MB or how they charge

    There seems to be a lot of companies offering to unlock broadband dongles if you use google, but the prices seem quiet high so £50 for one already unlocked doesn't appear to bad a price.

    Thanks

     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2008
  15. jacken

    jacken Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    kent
    Thanks for the reply Brauston.
    Most sim cards nowadays work with phone and data (internet). When you buy a sim card abroad you can put it in your phone Provided it's unlocked, or your dongle. You do get a number which you would use with your phone. All the sim card is doing, is allowing access to the their network for internet or phone. You top up as normal with credit. I don't know the pay as you go charges but they will probably be on a par with the UK.

    ken
     
  16. wkdtroll

    wkdtroll Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    North Wales
    internet abroad

    I have a Blackberry handset and a data SIM, which costs me £20 a month and gives me free roaming ANYWHERE in the world (It worked in the middle of the Masai Mara in Kenya!).

    Only thing I can't do is use it as a modem for my laptop. I do however get all my emails (3 addresses) and can access most websites (even my Bank's).
     
  17. cazd

    cazd Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shrewsbury
    That sounds good value! Which provider is that through?
    Many thanks in advance.
    Carol
     
  18. EzeeRider

    EzeeRider Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    48
    I'm confused, if you have a dongle why do you need a sim card. Surely the laptop and dongle give you direct access to a network without the phone?

    EzeeRider
     
  19. Braunston

    Braunston Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi, EzeeRider

    The 3 Broadband Dongles have the same SIM cards as the mobile phones, you actually credit a mobile telephone number that is on the SIM that you slot into the Dongle, you can also use the SIM card that comes with you phone if you want to

    hope that makes sense



     
  20. EzeeRider

    EzeeRider Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    48
    Thanks didn't realise dongles had sim slots:Doh:

    EzeeRider
     
Loading...

Share This Page