internet explorer keeps tabbing.

Discussion in 'Computers' started by pappajohn, Mar 26, 2010.

  1. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,461
    Likes Received:
    16,889
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Shirl's lappy is sick !!!!!

    she uses AOL for all her browsing but just occasionally IE7/8 will automatically open tabs...one after the other continuously....one every second or so.

    the only way to stop it is shut down the lappy.

    any idea's before i break it !!!!
     
  2. tofo

    tofo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,588
    Likes Received:
    6,215
    Location:
    Kirby cross further from londin
    aol has done some rejigs
    using aol myself last night and I noticed the changes
    on aol 9v and aol 9.5(latest offering supposedly faster)
    also find the search thingy when you go to del pre search
    the cursor jumps to the front of the first letter and you have
    change cursor to back to delete hope this helps
     
  3. tofo

    tofo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,588
    Likes Received:
    6,215
    Location:
    Kirby cross further from londin
    Sorry meant to say aol does tab browsing
    since their changes

    never used internet explorer since my first time(waste of) comp
    used opera and firefox though
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,461
    Likes Received:
    16,889
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    the problem isnt with AOL....that works fine....
    well, as fine as you'd expect from AOL.

    its IE thats causing the problem even though she never opens IE.

    IE randomly opens and stacks new IE tabs, again and again, OVER the AOL page.

    she's using Vista home edition
     
  5. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    5,197
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    I use AOL for connection and Explorer for browsing etc on Vista and the tabs etc do come on ocasionally.

    Dont bother with AOL screens.

    Peter
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,461
    Likes Received:
    16,889
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    she uses AOL for both connection and browsing.
    when IE starts re-tabbing theres no stopping it...it could go on for hours if left.

    it is completely random though...no particular time or web page she happens to be on.
     
  7. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    If you google "ie keeps opening" there appear to be lots of occurences of this and seems to be caused by some sort of malware
     
  8. duetto owner

    duetto owner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    north surrey
    I would advise dropping the AOL browser they have a history prone to problems I would look at either firefox or IE8 with the free add on called iepro to block adverts and greentext popups.

    mass tabs opening could in a few circumstances be spyware or a virus on the pc.

    useful links

    IEPro version 2.4.8
    http://www.ie7pro.com/

    to scan for spyware the best two free ones i think are
    SAS
    http://www.filehippo.com/download_superantispyware/
    MBAM
    http://www.filehippo.com/download_malwarebytes_anti_malware/

    I use all three of the above on winows 7 [do not use SAS if you have 64bit w7]
     
  9. Taran_Las

    Taran_Las Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6,478
    Likes Received:
    5,520
    Location:
    Near Mold North Wales
    John,

    I know this doesn't help much but I have the very same problem. It most often appears when I open a site that spawns a new window for adverts e.g www.allwords.com. I haven't got round to performing any diagnostics on it yet as I generally use IE7 for most of my browsing.

    Phil
     
  10. rainbow chasers

    rainbow chasers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    1,720
    Location:
    Mid Cornwall
    Sounds like there is lots of malware etc on there. Get an anti virus scan and see if that improves anything.

    Save any programs that you have added to the system, then do a reboot to factory settings. That will cure the problem! - it will take quite a while to do though, up to 3 days before you are back to normal!
     
  11. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,461
    Likes Received:
    16,889
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    AVG is running all the time in the background with regular weekly full system scans with both AVG and AVAST!

    never returns anything unusual.

    as for a re-boot.....i have all on talking her into doing the odd system restore if anything goes wrong.
    OS re-boot is definately out of the question. :RollEyes:
     
  12. rainbow chasers

    rainbow chasers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    1,720
    Location:
    Mid Cornwall
    Kept rebooting one of my old ones when it was doing this, in the end I got shot of it!

    One thing that will cause problems is the toolbar - particularly aol and google. You can still use them, just don't have the toolbar! That may smooth things out.

    Check your disc space too - just to make sure it isn't overloaded. Cut back on stuff you don't use. Worth a try!
     
  13. adenough

    adenough Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester
    AVG and Avast? Thought you couldn't run two at the same time without it causing problems?
     
  14. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,461
    Likes Received:
    16,889
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    no problems here.

    AVG is running full time in the background but i run full scans using both AVG and AVAST! together as one may not pick up something the other does.

    using both scanners does slow things up somewhat though so i do it when i'm doing nothing else.
     
  15. thehutchies

    thehutchies Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,495
    Likes Received:
    1,541
    Location:
    The Wheelèd Shed
    Uninstall Internet Explorer?
     
  16. duetto owner

    duetto owner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    north surrey
    AVG and AVAST on the same pc sooner or later will cause havoc

    only have one AV on the pc.

    did you try the MBAM or SAS links I posted, worth downloading and running a full scan, if you do not want the software just delete afterwards.

    i have both on my pc, i update them and scan each weekend
     
  17. motorvating

    motorvating Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Hinckley
    Get rif of IE, it has to many weaknesses. Firefox is very good, and makes for faster browsing.

    Wwhen rebooting go into safe mode and reboot using a last good configuratiuon.
     

Share This Page