Injection system failure light

Discussion in 'Fiat' started by carken, Sep 2, 2013.

1. carken

carken Read Only Funster

Hi, I'm a newbie and sorry I haven't introduced myself yet but we've got a problem.
    We bought our 2008 Fiat Ducato 2.2 100 multijet based Swift Sundance 580PR in July. We left home today and noticed that the injection system failure light was on. I phoned our dealer and was told to take it in to be checked out.
    My other half has read something about unplugging the ECU and plugging it back in - does anyone know anything about this?
    Thanks in advance.

2. Ed Excel

Ed Excel Funster

Our MH has the same engine. We learned from a Fiat agent, earlier this year, if the injection failure light comes on stop and start the engine four times, because there may not be a permanent problem. We had stalled ours earlier in the day and that, apparently, had caused the fault indication.
    Hope yours is as simple an issue.

3. carken

carken Read Only Funster

Thanks for your reply.
    We've taken the van back to our storage farm as we're doing some building work at the house and there's no room for it at the moment on the drive.
    I read that dirty fuel might cause it and that could have been the problem as it was ok until we put fuel in yesterday - so he put some diesel injector cleaner in and run it for a few miles to the farm. We'll take it out tomorrow and hopefully that will have helped, fingers crossed.

We only bought it end of July and haven't had chance to go anywhere yet.

4. acting_strange

acting_strange

This light can be brought on by all kinds of things....the wiring to the injector will cause this problem....mine has been on for ages now but the van shows no signs of problems....do an internet search for ducato engine warning light and have a read...

5. pappajohn

pappajohn Funster Life Member

dont forget....any warning lights on the dash which shouldnt normally be on is an MOT fail.

6. acting_strange

acting_strange