Importing Burstner New Argos from Germany

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Andrew Rchardson, Jun 3, 2016.

  1. Andrew Rchardson

    Andrew Rchardson Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    York
    Next week I am collecting a new Argos it will be collect on tempory plates I am happy with most of the process but have a few queries.

    I have arranged at my local Fiat dealer to have left dipping lights fitted, it has two rear fog lights fitted. I have ordered a speedo template from Lockwood's.

    With the VCA some posts suggest VCA don't need an MOT test but the description of the work done must be worded correctly. Other posts suggest the vehicle has to have an MOT, is that a special Mot station or the garage I normally get my MOT done.I also have a couple of truck MOT stations locally

    With paying for VAT in the UK, I think I need to pay via Nova, is this the same site I do my online income tax returns.

    I was was going to use V55/5 to tax and register the vehicle

    Thanks
    Andrew
     
  2. laird of Dunstan

    laird of Dunstan Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    3,059
    Location:
    lincolnshire
    i took mine to an MOT center ,but i was told that was not nessesary as a correctly worded document from a VAT registered garage will suffice , i also found google translate very usefull when it came to filling in the V5 ,yes you pay via nova ,it is the same site and is an additional online option.

    I did the lights on my A class myself and the MPH insert ,it was not difficult
     
  3. bellabee

    bellabee Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    666
    Location:
    Staffs/Shropshire border
    Like @laird of Dunstan, we did the lights and speedo insert ourselves. We're not particularly 'handy', but it was easy, and didn't take long.
    We didn't use an MOT garage, just a VAT registered one. We drafted the letter to the VCA, and the garage copied it onto their letter-headed paper and signed it.
    A word of caution - check the British VAT calculation carefully. They got ours wrong by about £1,500 - in their favour, of course! There was no problem in getting it refunded, though.
    Enjoy your new van.
     
  4. Steve devon

    Steve devon Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    126
    May I ask the saving you made rather than buying in uk ?
     
  5. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    1,638
    Location:
    Salisbury
    We imported a new Hymer Exsis last year and save around £30k so well worth doing.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. bellabee

    bellabee Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    666
    Location:
    Staffs/Shropshire border
    We only saved about £18,000. The exchange rate can make a big difference, but even at today's exchange rates, you would make a considerable saving.
    Have a look at http://www.mobile.de/?lang=en to get an idea of prices.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Mel

    Mel Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    De Haan Belgium
    Only £18000:)

    Pays for a lot of traveling
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    1,638
    Location:
    Salisbury
    We got a really good deal and the exchange rate was 140 to £ at the time so it's worth watching it to time your purchase.
     
  9. bellabee

    bellabee Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    666
    Location:
    Staffs/Shropshire border
    Certainly does! (y)(y)(y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Andrew Rchardson

    Andrew Rchardson Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    York
    Thanks for your help everybody, I wish that I had posted on here earlier. I am quite handy myself and can do a lot of jobs myself. One of the reasons it needs to go into Fiat is it needs to go on there computer and get the LED day-time running lights turned on.

    The dealer I have been using is near Düsseldorf airport, and less than two hours from Rotterdam.

    It's a bit complicated to say exactly the savings I have made, as the spec of the vehicle is far higher than I would bought in the UK. I would that like for like ŵith all things considered I must of saved £15 - 20k.

    I don't suppose anybody could e-mail they sent to VCA , it's obviosly worked for you.
     
  11. ANDY400R

    ANDY400R Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Essex
    Hi Andrew, PM your email address and I'll forward a copy of a letter that I used from someone else on this forum. It's worked twice so must be alright.
    Andy
     
  12. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225
    Likes Received:
    5,024
    Location:
    West Sussex
    I've sent you a copy of the letter I used for the VCA via a PM.

    If you use different styles of headlamps with either style of DLR's either will work without a visit to a dealer but if they are the ones the vehicle is not designed for a warning light will come up on the dash, I don't think it is possible to re-program this. Most people just swap the lights back after the vehicle has been inspected. Only takes five mins to swap a headlamp only 2 screws much easier than the older X250's.
     
  13. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225
    Likes Received:
    5,024
    Location:
    West Sussex
    I think you are being a bit optimistic and comparing the price you paid to the UK list price instead of the best price you could have got in the UK.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  14. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    1,638
    Location:
    Salisbury
    @Lenny HB Not really paid £49k a British comparison was around £80,
    Ithink you would agree a good deal?
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. Jenben

    Jenben Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2,824
    Location:
    Uk
    Great to see our letter being used again:)

    We found it very hard to quantify exactly how much we saved when we imported.

    However ,we struggled to get any real discount from UK dealers on a new order - they were willing to offer discounts against the extras on stock vans but nothing on the basic price of the van.

    Our savings on a van (in stock at a Belgian dealer) against uk list were similar to @Speve

    Even if we could have got 10-15% in the UK (unlikely as the dealers were not keen!) we still saved a huge amount more and got exactly the van we were looking for within 3 weeks rather than 3 months +.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  16. Andrew Rchardson

    Andrew Rchardson Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    York
    I have just been going through Form V335/5 which is the notes about filling in the V55-5. I been looking at V5 for my old Swift Konticki which is on the same chassis, says the make is Fiat then the Ducato model and engine size. It is down as a private hgv, and is a motor caravan. When I look at the Certificate of Conformity from the dealer, it makes no mention Fiat,but does mention details of the engine under a FPT heading. Should with changes since coc coming in is the vehicle Burstner rather than Fiat
     
  17. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225
    Likes Received:
    5,024
    Location:
    West Sussex
    If it is an A Class you can get away with putting the converters name, put mine down as Hymer if a coachbuilt normally registered as a Fiat.
     
  18. bellabee

    bellabee Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    666
    Location:
    Staffs/Shropshire border
    We put ours down as 'Fiat.'
     
  19. Andrew Rchardson

    Andrew Rchardson Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    York
    I have cooledted my motorhomes last week I have paid th Vat, filled in the the VCA form and sent it off. The next stage is registering it and filling in the V55/5, when I looking at the reg document for my old Swift Kontiki which was on the same chassis it was two axle, I was going to put 3 axle the license call was private HGV any thoughts anybody ??
     
Loading...

Share This Page