Importing a motorhome into Australia (1 Viewer)

Frankguard

Free Member
Apr 29, 2010
For the time being Aberde
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
1 year
Does anyone here know the ins and outs of importing a motorhome into Australia?

I have been a resident here in UK for the last 2.1/2 years and could quite possibly be transferred back to Australia. If this transfer goes ahead I would like to take my motorhome back with me having had it for the required 12 months.

What I need to know is what duty and GST (VAT) I would have to pay and that would also include the Luxury Goods Tax as I guess my motorhome is worth more than the Aust$57,000? How is this all calculated, is it based on the UK price or based on some unknown valuer in Australia?

And, once I do get the motorhome there what additional costs would I need to stump up for such as Australian Compliance plate; Tyres (I read somewhere that all tyres need to have either made in Australia or a US Dot compliance??); Electrical standards compliance etc etc.

The bottom line is whether having taken into account cleaning, shipping, customs etc costs is it going to be worthwhile or not??

DESCO

Free Member
Mar 11, 2009
London
Funster No
MH
low profile
Exp
18 years +12 years tugging
Hi

I am led to believe that is a very difficult to import motorhomes into Australia.

The only person I knew who looked into it as he was returning to Australia gave up, so assume he found that it was not practical and gave up sold it and replaced at home.

Hope someone can tell you different.

Best of luck

Dave .:thumb::thumb:

Peter JohnsCross MH

Funster
Deceased RIP
Jan 5, 2008
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
Friend of mine with many, many years in the motor trade, now living in Oz went into the ins and outs of importing motorhomes into Oz, he gave up the struggle and now imports caravans which have a lot less restrictions.

Peter

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

sedge

Funster
Jul 7, 2009
Nr Jct 3 M6
Funster No
MH
C class