I'm really trying to give Windows a chance......

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Allanm, Mar 7, 2016.

  1. Allanm

    Allanm Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,045
    Likes Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Cotes d'armor, France
    ....but Microsoft are making it so hard!
    I managed to upgrade a laptop I have, to Windows 10. I gave up trying to ignore the messages asking if I wanted to upgrade.
    I only use the laptop to control a telescope and programme some radios I have, I wouldn't trust Windows with anything important.
    But, after using it sporadically since I upgraded, it now throws up a critical error every time I startup.
    " Windows Start Menu and Cortana are not working, please restart while we try to fix the problem" or something similar.
    So, I have to keep restarting and Microsoft doesn't seem to have fixed it.
    I have searched online for an answer, lots of people recommending complicated fixes that don't seem to work, so, is there a solution?
    I'm afraid my internet connection is very slow at the moment ( using iboost in France on what appears to be a slow connection anyway) so don't have a lot of luck searching for solutions online.
    Good job I have my iPad with me to use!
    Anybody know of a solution? ( Ken?)
     
  2. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,583
    Likes Received:
    11,572
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Hindsight is a wonderful thing but if you only used the laptop as described why bother to connect it to the Internet at all? Left alone it would have been entirely ignorant of W10.

    There is a way to roll back the installation if you are quick.

    Then cut its dongles off. :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,437
    Likes Received:
    11,130
    Location:
    Kettering
    Find Mac software for your telescope and radios?


    I have one Windows machine hidden in the corner at work where nobody will ever see it. All it does is act as a print server. Among the 500 things a day it hassles me with are constant pleas to upgrade to Windows 10. Never gonna happen. I'll take it offline first and figure out a cable connection to keep it talking to the real computers.
     
  4. Allanm

    Allanm Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,045
    Likes Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Cotes d'armor, France
    I have most things working on my Mac, but there are two programmes I have to use with Windows , one to control a ccd imaging camera and one to programme my handheld radios. Luckily, the radios don't need doing often, but I do need the imaging software so have to use the laptop, plus, it's a Toughbook, so I can use it outside at night in the damp without it getting ruined.
    It needs to be connected to the Internet at times too, hence my submission to doing the upgrade........
     
  5. Boringfrog

    Boringfrog Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    448
    Have you updated 10 since you installed it? There have been quite a few big updates.
     
  6. Allanm

    Allanm Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,045
    Likes Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Cotes d'armor, France
    It's supposed to handle updates automatically, it has done some, but I can't find a Windows Update option like when it was on Win 7.
    Mind you, I haven't looked too hard.....
     
  7. Boringfrog

    Boringfrog Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    448
    • Useful Useful x 2
  8. Puddleduck

    Puddleduck Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    6,478
    Likes Received:
    13,815
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Keep F2 pressed whilst you restart. :)
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
Loading...

Share This Page