IE9 and Geolocation

Discussion in 'Computers' started by ShiftZZ, Mar 15, 2011.

  1. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19,821
    Likes Received:
    35,897
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Just looked at the IE9 webpage, they have a function/test called geolocation. So me being me decided to test it out, the geolocation... It appeared to locate my exact address. Now that is worrying...

    How can it be that exact?

    Anyone used or thinking about IE9?

    Ity appears only to run on Windows 7.


    ShiftZZ
     
  2. rainbow chasers

    rainbow chasers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    1,720
    Location:
    Mid Cornwall
    Just uses your IP address, which is connected to your phone number!
     
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
  4. DBSilverfox

    DBSilverfox Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Nottingham
    It was about 20 houses out for mine. That will teach me to hack into a neighbours unprotected network point :Rofl1:

    David
     
  5. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    Don't need IE9 to locate Geo:Wink:

    He is generally at Peck's hill garage :Wink::Rofl1:
     
  6. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Location:
    living the dream.
    Could have dangerous consequences.....geo location... lets everyone know where we are at any given time.
    I have it disabled on facebook and on my phone, coud give burglars some idea's.
    Technology prumphh where would we be without it??????
    No internet, I cant live without that.... no funsters I cant live without that...etc etc
    ooohhh give me the old days back!!!
    :thumb::thumb:
     
  7. MikeandCarolyn

    MikeandCarolyn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    Location:
    Worle,North Somerset
    Where on IE9 do I find this Geolocation thingy-is it in Internet Options or what ?
    Really all I want a browser to do is take me to the page I want to see.I put IE9 on hoping it would get me into Chat :cry:but alas it won't.

    Mike.

    Right-I've turned it off now-but I still havn't found how to see how accurate it is.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2011
  8. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,260
    Likes Received:
    34,523
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    I didn't realise until reading this thread that there is a Geo Location feature in Firefox as well and it is set on by default. Instructions for resetting it Here.
     
  9. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,564
    Likes Received:
    25,747
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    You'll need more than Geo Location to track me down for your shoe money son :Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:

    JJ
     
  10. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    Just see it now JJ and shiftZZ parking in the parent and child bays.
     
Loading...

Share This Page