Iboost In France Via Bt Or Fon

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by FunnyFendt, Jul 4, 2015.

  1. FunnyFendt

    FunnyFendt Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Near Ringwood, Hampshire
    image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg
    Just a couple of quick screen shots of what to expect in France if connecting to fon hotspots. We have BT in England and connect with one of addies iboost systems, ok it does have a few wires hanging about but it certainly drags the signals in.
    On the first page you see go for the connexion fon part and after that you can change language to English. Enter your bt details and then you are connected.
    Happy surfing.
     
    • Like Like x 7
  2. Moodybrook

    Moodybrook Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    628
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Right that is me out of the equation, back to the campfire and blanket. What colour of paint shall I watch dry, Hmmmm !!
     
  3. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,136
    Likes Received:
    7,690
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Believe it or not but I actually got this sign in thing come up on my phone last week after three years of trying to connect to fon, and lo and behold it actually connected for about five minutes then went off, tried it again and it said I couldn't connect because I had too many devices connected:( don't know what it ment as I had only got my phone with me(n).
    I know some of you use fon and are happy with it, but it just won't work for me.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,843
    Likes Received:
    6,397
    Location:
    south shields
    have been doing a little reading on the subject of mobile wifr and thinking of trying an iboost, and joining FON..
    I had read that logging on in Europe could be problematic so have found your post helpful ..
    is the log in box the one I have marked with a green x in the shot ive attached..thanks for your post and help.
    andy..
    fon.png
     
  5. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,843
    Likes Received:
    6,397
    Location:
    south shields
    have you tried ringing adam and sophie at motorhome wifi. .(0113 815 1120)..they are very helpful ..
    andy
     
  6. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,136
    Likes Received:
    7,690
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    I haven't rang them but we have had many threads running on here about it, and I have followed his instructions to the letter many times, and have got to the point now where I just can't be bothered with it as there is usually plenty free wifi about that does work , but this one time last week fon came at the top of my wifi options so gave it another try and that was farther than I have ever been with it in as I say three years.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,474
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Without using an aerial to amplify the signal your phone would need to be right on top of the FON spot to successfully connect and stay connected.
    Just because a FON spot is visible in your wifi settings is no surety that it will connect .
    The best way is using a hub and antenna system as sold by Adam.
    I have four devices connected as I type
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,136
    Likes Received:
    7,690
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Quite agree, just saying what I found
     
  9. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,136
    Likes Received:
    7,690
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    I have got a O2 sim in my phone, and although it cost £1.99 a day, it never failed to get a connection anywhere, well happy with it, even in Belgium, Germany and Luxembourg, where Julie's three wouldn't work on feel at home.
     
  10. jockaneezer

    jockaneezer Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    3,058
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Tried mine at Gravelines last week, picked up a few signals including the marina's but they were all around the -80 value. Did pick up one SFR signal but couldn't connect via Fon.
    Picked up the site wifi in Valkenberg and Vianden and shared it with our friends ok.
     
  11. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,474
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Last year while parked at Grand Forte Philipe I picked up FON from across the estuary just with my iPad alone.
     
  12. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,136
    Likes Received:
    7,690
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Well that's strange as well then because I can use the marina wifi no bother, all my devices remembers the login and I can be up and running a couple of minutes from parking up, but I haven't got any special Aerial
     
  13. jockaneezer

    jockaneezer Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    3,058
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Didn't try connecting to the marina's wifi as I didn't have the log in details, how do you obtain them ?
     
  14. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,136
    Likes Received:
    7,690
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Pretty much like fon, when you go to any web page a connection page comes up, if you haven't got the details, you put your email address in and they send you an email with a password, your email works on their thing somehow.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page