I PAD AIR

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Middy42, Oct 27, 2014.

  1. Middy42

    Middy42 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Fleetwood
    Evening all, just a quick question. What is the difference between

    I PAD AIR WIFI
    AND
    I PAD AIR WIFI PLUS CELLULAR Apart from £100

    Keep it simple please
     
  2. richr

    richr Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    721
    Location:
    Cheltenham Spa
    That looks to be the difference :D

    Sorry couldnt resist
     
  3. Peter & Elaine

    Peter & Elaine Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    6,462
    Location:
    Roobarb land
    I pad air wifi will only work on wifi

    IPad Air with cellular will take a mobile phone like SIM card
    And will connect to Internet anywhere
    Using mobile data or wifi
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. DuxDeluxe

    DuxDeluxe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9,358
    Likes Received:
    25,068
    Location:
    Planet Zog
    The wifi plus cellular has a GPS chip in it as well, which means that you can use it as giant satnav with a Nav programme (eg NavFee) downloaded.

    That made a big difference to us......
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. tofo

    tofo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,588
    Likes Received:
    6,215
    Location:
    Kirby cross further from londin
    Cellular accepts a SIM card from a phone shop giffgaff/02 /ee/vodaphone

    The other is wifi ( router at home type )
    or free wifi at McDonald's
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Middy42

    Middy42 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Fleetwood
    Thanks for that now it's a no brainer. Barrie
     
  7. jointerjohn

    jointerjohn Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    bristol
    Hi middy42 the wi fi needs to connect to a close by internet source ie if you were out and about you could find wi fi via say mc donalds or another free internet, the cellular would need a sim card which is fitted inside the i pad to connect independently to a provider ie o2/ee/vodaphone thus giving much greater coverage usually any where!
     
  8. PP Bear

    PP Bear Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    6,035
    Location:
    UK
    I have the 64Gig wifi cellular and it's brilliant :)

    I have a 3G contract, so 15gig of 3G data for £5 a month, plus it logs on to all the free wifi I need when out :)

    Also use the iPad as my satnav and it's perfect for me. Large clear screen too :)

    Worth the extra pennies in my opinion. My friend Di got the 64G only and really regrets not getting the cellular model :)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Debs

    Debs Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,075
    Likes Received:
    14,331
    Location:
    Looking for the sunny side of the street
    Sorry, do you mind if I butt in? When you use the sat nav function does that count towards your data allowance?
     
  10. davidbaldam

    davidbaldam Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,877
    Likes Received:
    6,476
    Location:
    Market Harborough
    If you an iPhone you can pair it to your iPad so if your phone picks up a signal then pair it via Bluetooth then away you go. (y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. tofo

    tofo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,588
    Likes Received:
    6,215
    Location:
    Kirby cross further from londin
    Nope not on me I phone or pad
    being I haven't topped up the pad
    For two years ( giffgaff sim is still live )
    Thought it would of been cancelled by now
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. PP Bear

    PP Bear Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    6,035
    Location:
    UK
    Yes Debs, but I've never ever gone over my 15gig allowance, as that's a huge amount of data. Far more than the satnav could ever need :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,571
    Likes Received:
    11,547
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I use my mobile phone to create a WiFi hotspot so I don't need a sim card for my tablet.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  14. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,219
    Likes Received:
    9,599
    Location:
    Dorset
    no not unless you browse the internet at the same time. my android tablet is not 3g but has built in gps so can be used as a satnav. i pair it to my mifi and this allows multiple devices to share the one 3g connection
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. DuxDeluxe

    DuxDeluxe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9,358
    Likes Received:
    25,068
    Location:
    Planet Zog
    If you use a Nav programme such as Nav Free ( I use copilot but it is purchased as an app - my choice) then you do not use any data as it is downloaded. Would recommend getting bigger rather than smaller memory - e.g.32gig plus as you can soon fill it up. Cheers
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,435
    Likes Received:
    11,117
    Location:
    Kettering
    That depends what navigation app you are using. If you use one that completely downloads all the map data to the device no, if you use one that only keeps a small bit of the map on the device and needs to download more as you move around then yes.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  17. DuxDeluxe

    DuxDeluxe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9,358
    Likes Received:
    25,068
    Location:
    Planet Zog
    But if you only have wifi then you can't use it as a satnav which is why we went for the 3G version, which has the GPs chip
     
  18. PP Bear

    PP Bear Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    6,035
    Location:
    UK
    As David said, if you get an iPad and have an iPhone, you can turn the phone into a wifi router, by using the function known as Personal Hotspot :)

    Once it's switched on at the phone, turn on the wifi on the iPad and enter the password given on the phone and then you'll be connected. Both devices will have turned on their Bluetooth and you'll just need to leave the phone somewhere that you can get a 3G signal (say the window sill) :)

    This will then use your iPhone data allowance. If you've a contract that says limitless data download, your laughing :)

    This picture shows the location under Settings for the Personal Hotspot :)

    image.jpg
    This picture shows the Personal Hotspot and wifi password you would need to enter to connect devices :)

    image.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 2
  19. Debs

    Debs Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,075
    Likes Received:
    14,331
    Location:
    Looking for the sunny side of the street
    Wow thanks for all the quick replies, I'm going to have to go away and research some more. I do the same as you DBK at the moment but we use a tomtom when travelling but she's on her last legs, bless(y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Middy42

    Middy42 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Fleetwood
    Thanks all what great info for an IT nu pay. Barrie
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page