I need your experience (1 Viewer)

Mattie

Free Member
Nov 8, 2009
Funster No
Hello there. I am VERY new to the motor home experience and, having just bought my new (to me) first ever MH, I will be travelling all the way from London to Newcastle to pick it up at the end of next week, that is at the end of November. Since it is such a long journey, I though to the travel back home leisurely, visiting some places of interest. My plan is to spend Friday night in York. Any recommendations for some one who is clueless but mostly, where can I stay in York city? It is a compact, small MH. Can I park it in any street and go to sleep like a baby? What do you usually do, guys? Just for you to bear in mind that I am a woman travelling alone. Yes, I know, I am mad, but the thrill of the MH experience is stronger than any fears. Many thanks and kind regards. Mattie.

iceni

Free Member
Dec 3, 2007
Birmingham
Funster No
MH
Lowline Coachbuilt
Exp
27yrs
Hi Mattie
Well without being patronising you are a brave gal.
If i were you I would ask if you can stay at the dealers premises(assuming it is a dealer you are buying off). A lot of them do this and it gives the chance of finding any problems and getting them sorted out.

Until you feel at one with your van I wouldnt suggest stopping at the side of the road just any old place yet. A lot of people do do it and usually without too much bother but you have to know where and when. Some people do, even thought they have no rights in law, take offence to a van being ouitside their place. And you may get played up by the local youth if they find out you are on your own.

If you wish to joing the caravan club you may be able to stay on their club site in the centre of york and its a 10-15 min walk from the site to the centre. You can also stay on the racecourse. The caravan club has many sites not too far from major towns.