Free Member
Mar 19, 2014
South West
Funster No
MH
don't own one yet
Exp
Hi All
Any opinions or guidance on this would be much appreciated. I have tried to look for previous discussion on this here and elsewhere. I am a newbie, wanting to buy a motorhome. I have a missus and two young kids. I did have the idea until recently of a (small) campervan, but decided that despite the day to day usability, they are, for me, too much of a compromise in terms of actually sleeping and inhabiting them.

We want something we can use the whole year round, for day trips, as well as holidays, weekends away, festivals, and who knows, maybe even skiing in the winter (as I’ve read some people are actually able to do in a motorhome (news to me!)) etc. We are thinking of a safari room, but we want a vehicle that is big enough for the 4 of us in itself, for winter. We also want convenient (“equal”) fully strapped seats for the kids as well as the two of us.

Because we want something well insulated and winterised I’ve been looking mainly at Hymers (as well as Adria, Eura Mobil, Frankia, Dethleffs and Bessacar).

Any suggestions based on our situation would be most welcome, but I am mainly thinking about either a Hymer b 544, or a Hymer Camp C544. With the B range (A class) I like the pull down bed, and what I expect will be a nicer overall quality and feel to the vehicle, but the Camp looks like the more sensible and better priced option in many cases. We’re looking at spending up to say £17k privately or maybe up to mid twenties though a dealer with dealer finance.

Any comments appreciated, especially around this key question of how a Hymer Camp 5-6 birth compares to a Hymer B class…

Thanks
Paul

jonandshell

Free Member
Dec 12, 2010
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Not got one!
Exp
Since 2006
I would say forget the A class for family use.
Kids love overcab beds, they can have their own little world up there without interfering with your lounge and dining arrangments!