Hymer B534 Cab Air conditioning

Discussion in 'Heating and Air-Conditioning' started by Queenie, Jul 17, 2013.

  1. Queenie

    Queenie Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cornwall, United Kingdom
    Does anyone know about the Hymer cab only air con.....the button on the dash is working but the air con doesnt seem to work...and i dont know if i have to buy gas or something? Im new to this air con stuff and a blonde .....:BigGrin:
     
  2. capinpugwash

    capinpugwash Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    630
    Location:
    Hampshire
    I am going to assume that the base vehicle is a Fiat, and the cab air con button is the one lower right on the panel.

    I am also going to assume that a light comes on when the button is depressed, and the engine is running as it will not work without the engine running.

    Have you put the fan onto at least setting number 1 as it will not work unless this is on?

    Also are all the cab vents open and the airflow set to face vents position.

    In my Hymer the cab aircon is not the best, as it has to cool such a huge area when driving, but putting the fan onto maximum does at least get some cooling.

    If all these are in place then you may need to get the system at least re gassed, or at worst have a new compressor.

    There are other things to look at and others will be along with this info I am sure.

    Hope this helps.:BigGrin:
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2013
  3. Queenie

    Queenie Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cornwall, United Kingdom
    Hymer Air con

    Ill have to say yes to all of those answers......it was working well last week, its great if it just keeps me cool when driving......but i dont know where to get it re gassed....i live in Cornwall....thanks tho :BigGrin:
     
  4. BwB

    BwB Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    561
    Location:
    Brandon Suffolk UK
    Almost any garage workshop will be able to do it or arrange to have it done.

    If it's just regassing, Halfords sell a kit which is very easy to use but costs about the same as having the garage :Eeek:
     
  5. simsy56

    simsy56 Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Likes Received:
    12,239
    Location:
    Ramsey, Isle of Man.
    Most garages will re-gas an air con unit. The system drained, flushed, and the right amount of fluid added. It will also be checked for leaks.
    The ac system will lose a certain amount of liquid over a period of time, and the system should always be run to prevent seizure, about once a month i run mine.
    An ac system can be run at any temperature setting, and also acts as a de-humidifier, so if you have a steamed up windscreen, pop on the ac, and the moisture will disappear.

    Craig
     
  6. cranky

    cranky Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    455
    Location:
    essex
    Ask if they leak test at the same time or you could end up going back again.
    The one I use suck all existing gas out, vacuum test then either put some dye in if it is leaking and replace seals as required or re fill with gas if all ok. cost £50 on my car and has been ok for 4 years now.

    Sorry, Craig beat me to it.:BigGrin:
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page