Hymer 544 wiring issue.... Puzzled (1 Viewer)

navininika

Free Member
Mar 7, 2015
Fleet
Funster No
MH
A Class Hymer B544
Exp
Please Help....

We have just bought our first motorhome, a 1994 B544 Hymer. We have steadily been cleaning her over the weekend and testing various bits, elec hookup, kitchen tap, lights etc. Pleased to say that all is working apart from the most frustrating problem and we're hoping someone with a bit more experience will be able to help us.

With the 12v system on, water tank full the kitchen tap operates fine. You can hear the microswitch activate the pump and water appears as it should. The same applies to the electric flush on the thetford loo. However as soon as we try to operate the bathroom tap it trips the fuse (5amp labeled pump on the electro Bloc)

Now when we got the van, the leads from the bathroom tap were disconnected. I studied the wiring diagram and translated the german to see what should be what and I connected the wires to what appears to be the same connectors for the kitchen tap? It blows a fuse straight away, indicating what I think should be a short, but when this tap is disconnected all other items work fine.

I then believed that the tap may be faulty, so have purchased a new tap with microswitch. Have replaced said tap this afternoon and yet again it just blows the fuse when connected and turned on.

I am totally stumped, pump works fine, kitchen tap works fine, toilet flush works fine but as soon as I connect the two leads from the bathroom tap I am back at square one again. I can't understand where it might be shorting.

If anyone can help us, it would be greatly appreciated we were hoping to go on our first weekend trip this weekend and feeling totally deflated :(:cry:

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007