Free Member
Jul 13, 2011
Lymington
Funster No
MH
Old Autotrail
Exp
I am a newbie
Hi all, Just starting on the road of motorhome ownership on a small budget,I have been looking at a Mercedes hymermobil 534 1981. 4 speed. I know it's a bit old and am looking forward to updating it a little.I've read that these have bulletproof if not basic mechanicals...Has anybody had one so can tell me if this is true.Any pro and cons... Hoping for some wise advise..Many thanks

dylan

Free Member
Aug 31, 2007
sw wales
Funster No
MH
none
Exp
n/a
:welcome: to the FUN, I am sure someone will be able to answer your questions. :Smile: :thumb:

callumwa

Free Member
Jan 16, 2011
Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
4 yrs +, 30+ yrs motorbike touring
Hi, and welcome......::bigsmile:

I know slightly less than nothing about Hymers.....

but fortunately there are many here who do.......:thumb:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

JJ

Mágica
May 1, 2008
Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
Funster No
MH
Burstner Privilege T
Exp
over 50 years
Hi and welcome to the Fun...

I have a 1987 Mercedes 660 and it is excellent... now lives in Portugal and the mechanics here can work on it no probs... mind you, the only things needed doing in two and a bit years was some rewiring (my fault), an oil and filter change and a repair to the exhaust downpipe. (oh and the heater igniter too).

I guess the thing is how well your one has been looked after... I reckon if the inside is lovely (like mine was) then it is a sign that it has had caring owners and been serviced regularly...

I actually prefer the interiors of the older models but then... I am old myself!

JJ

Terry

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 27, 2007
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Can't remember ;)