Huawei mifi in France

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by Tweedie, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. Tweedie

    Tweedie Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Northants
    Hi all a stupid question from a newbie planning a trip to France in April regarding mifi. We currently have a Huawei E5332 (3G) unlocked mifi device with a mag mount external aerial. Have used it in UK and all works well, very pleased with it using '3' pre paid data sims. We just switch it on, connect up and away we go all very easy.

    My daft questions are when we are in France:
    1. Will it work the same as UK or will I need to make any changes to the mifi settings when I switch on.
    2. Will the three pre paid data SIM's be using the 'feel at home' rates or is that just for phone SIMS.
    (y)
     
  2. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    Cornwall/France/Spain
    My Huawei mifi works on the same settings in UK and France. I believe that you must use a mobile data SIM in a mifi and not a phone SIM. However, a '3' phone SIM will continue to work in your phone on 'feel at home' whilst in France.
     
  3. FIDGET

    FIDGET Funster

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,868
    Likes Received:
    5,952
    Location:
    Isle of Wight
    Hi Tweedie,
    Yes I use mine no problem in France, but I think that you can't start a new data sim when over there , I think they need to be started in UK but could be wrong, as I usually only need 1gb of data & only go over there for 3 weeks at a time.
     
  4. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5,584
    Likes Received:
    9,735
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Your MIFI will only work in France if you have turned on Data Roaming turned on
    The easiest way to do this is using the Huwei app on a smartphone
    Once turned on, your Three Sim Card will operate the same as it does in the UK .
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Tweedie

    Tweedie Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Northants
    Thanks for that Robert I did wonder if you would need to turn on data roaming on a mifi as you would do with a mobile phone.(y)

    p.s. We enjoy reading about your travels, very inspiring for our future trips (we were parked next to you at Vanbitz last September and shared a lift into town)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. dabhand

    dabhand Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,408
    Likes Received:
    2,466
    Location:
    Staffs
    As for topping up in France, sometimes you can, sometimes you can't! I had a problem trying to activate an "Add on" I had already purchased (top up) last July, it just wouldn't have it, by the the time it activated I didn't need it as I was back in UK.

    Complained to Three and the reinstated me with an unexpiring top up but also informed me to trying going to:-

    www.three.co.uk/topup And click on new web top up
     
Loading...

Share This Page