Huawei e5332

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by pappajohn, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2013
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    nobody using one then :Sad:
     
  3. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,868
    Likes Received:
    10,682
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    I have one here that my son uses when he visits, he uses it with skype on his US phone, he has been very impressed with it. I dont use it as I use my phone for tethering. :thumb:
     
  4. Spenders

    Spenders

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    Tadcaster
    I've got one!

    I got one of these from motorhomewifi before my recent trip to France.... and it worked just fine! :thumb:
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    thanks guys.
    I never feel happy with customer reviews as you never know who actually wrote them.

    I have read of some being unlocked from 3 network (they Still have the 3 logo) which don't work on all networks which is why I bought a factory unlocked and unbranded version.
     
  6. shunter

    shunter Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Kent the white cliffs end
    I have got one take it with me all the time have 3 network sim in it which I get on ebay for 11 pounds something for 3 gig
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Current SIM in my old T mobile dongle is a none expiring one.

    Credit remains active until used up no matter how long its there.

    Had it almost 3 years but due to rubbish GPRS and EDGE coverage i rarely use it and it is still on the original £15 credit it came with, around £1.50 left...cost me a tenner on eBay.
     
  8. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    France,
    Yes John...I have one, had it over a year now..unlocked my own..purchased my one locked from Argos....Brill...better signal and faster speed to a normal dongle....I use it with SFR France...Orange France..."3" network UK...and Vodafone Portugal....a brill bit of kit

    Mel
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. peter H

    peter H Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    661
    Location:
    Neath, South Wales
    Yes I have one and its great.

    Faster than my home broadband if you have a strong 3G signal. I use mine on 3.

    Bought from eBay, paid less than that and then £3 to unlock it.

    Peter
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Peter & Elaine

    Peter & Elaine Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    6,460
    Location:
    Roobarb land
    We have one of fle-bay £40 unlocked
    3 sim 3 gig 3 months life £11 of fle-bay
    It's faster than home broad band
    And one hell of a lot faster than hotel wifi and no spy's
    I get coverage 90% of time
    What more dos tha want
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. JohnH

    JohnH Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    888
    Location:
    Southport
    My brother in law said don't get a mifi dongle they are rubbish. He has the older model, I have the one you quoted. With a 3 3 gig SIM card from fleabay I have used it every night in a different location throughout Wales. Fabulous, it has worked every time and the speed is terrific. Cannot wait to tell him that his locked Vodaphone dongle is the problem.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Goldenoldies

    Goldenoldies Funster

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    809
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    We use one, we have to reset it most times we move but otherwise ok.
     
  13. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    agreed, connection speed is abysmal on the old style internet dongles if you dont have a decent signal which is why i still have credit after 3 years on my old T mobile (now unlocked) dongle....can take 2 or 3 minutes just to bring up a new page.

    and of course, the dongle isnt a wifi hotspot so that meant dragging my laptop everywhere with me.

    be nice to use my kindle while Shirl is shopping etc.
     
  14. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    arrived this morning, good old Amazon and their one day delivery :thumb:

    took ages to match to my voda sim, would connect to internet for a few seconds then drop connection...repeatedly.

    a problem with the APN so renewed it to PP.INTERNET then reset it back to INTERNET and it now works fine.

    PP.INTERNET is for £15 top up (1Gb) lasting 90 days.....INTERNET is for contract, probably because it started life on a contract then unlocked.

    need to try a few locations with it but it is certainly faster than my old internet dongle. :thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    maybe a bit late now but I have one :thumb:
    Got a limited to 250mb download but with unlimited surfing lasting sim card for 12 mths--been useing it all the time for 5 weeks surfing constantly using around 2 gb in the month while I had nointernet with all the messing around with TT Worked well with computer and tablet,did not notice muchdifferene in conection speeds
     
  16. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    been sat on Whitby,s west cliff near the theatre for a couple of hours while Shirl watch's a dance show.
    I need to stand/walk from time to time to easy my back pain so I didn't go in.

    Using my new mifi....on 2G...No 3G signal up here :Sad:.....is been a long evening .:Laughing:
     
  17. joner8888

    joner8888 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    somerset
    Yes ,got one , used it in France with a 3 card in it .
    Worked perfectly ok.
    It would also run my vodaphone sim card just for data use when the 3 ran out.
     
  18. the stig

    the stig Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    687
    Location:
    Grimsby
    yeap we got one too, only need it whilst away, so was reluctant to go for a monthly contract. went to 3 shop and got a sim (and dongle that we didn't need) 12 or 15 gig cannot remember, but its the second year we done this, and never used up the full quota. Paid £88 for a full year. Which I think currently beats any monthly contract, works out the equivalent to £7.33 a month
     
  19. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Try 21 quid for the year :thumb: unlimited browsing that works :thumb: tried and tested :Wink:
    Not sure but I think UK use only :Smile:
    terry
     
  20. Philcott

    Philcott Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    370
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds
    What where? I've got my running shoes on! :Wink:
     
Loading...

Share This Page