How to Use a Multi-meter to check amps

Discussion in 'Top Tips & Tricks' started by Braunston, Sep 10, 2008.

  1. Braunston

    Braunston Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi,

    Just thought this "YouTube" demonstration on how to use a Multi-meter to check for amps, e.g. drain on your battery, may be helpful to someone

    You may want to do this if your Cab Battery or Leisure Battery keeps losing its charge. as it will show you if there is something that is taking the power.

    Hope it helps someone

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 14, 2016
    • Informative Informative x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  2. aamybush

    aamybush Deleted User

    Thanks!!!

    Hi Braunston,
    this video from youtube is useful to me...again thanks a lot!!!
     
  3. flyboy

    flyboy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Carlisle
    I was wondering how to do that! Thanks very useful
     
  4. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,546
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    This I think is where a little knowledge is more dangerous than non
    amp test's appropriate to a multi meter's are limitedby its range, and that is quite low , if the expected results are not known :Eeek: pop goes the multi meter, and amp's burn:cry:
    ever seen 30amp's go through a 10amp meter:RollEyes::RollEyes::RollEyes: Sizzling sausages springs to mind:Rofl1::Rofl1:
    Geo
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,966
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    if you really need to check ampages then i suggest you invest in an LCD clamp type meter.....around £40 but money well spent.
    just open the jaws and place around the cable to be tested.
    put it around your leisure battery pos lead and it'll tell you instantly how many amps your pulling or around any individual wire and it'll give you the amps for that particular circuit .
    only disadvantage is it must ONLY go around the + OR - wire....not both together.
    as there is no direct contact it cant be damaged by overloading it.

    mine has a range of 1 milliamp to 100 amps..both AC and DC current......enough for just about any test.
     
  6. bigalw35

    bigalw35 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Grays - Essex - UK
    pappajohn, hate to be a pain, but I'm a retired electrician (know all about tong testers) perhaps you could put the name of your tong tester up, as there are NOT many tong testers that do AC & DC, and more so DC up to 100 amps?
     
  7. Bobby22

    Bobby22 Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    3,185
    Location:
    Scotland
    Old thread this, if you want to attract a members attention you should use this

    @pappajohn
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
  8. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,972
    Likes Received:
    3,328
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,966
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Its in the garage or caravan at the moment.
    I'll dig it out tomorrow and post details and a pic or two.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Roadrunner_644

    Roadrunner_644 Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Leicester
  11. KeithMak

    KeithMak Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    South West
    or this one that is a multi-meter.

    Amazon

    Example only not an endorsement of seller, have pone and regularly use it.

    Do ensure you get the correct model as similar looking will not read dc. amps
     
  12. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,966
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Pics as promised.....but it's 80a ac/dc, not 100a as posted

    IMG_20161115_113728.jpg IMG_20161115_113734.jpg
     
  13. Gizmouk

    Gizmouk Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    1,721
    Location:
    Essex
    One of mine
    2000A AC or DC :)

    [​IMG]
     
  14. bigalw35

    bigalw35 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Grays - Essex - UK
    Pappajohn, please accept my apologies, I retired back in 2010, things have obviously moved on quite a bit since then, most of my work was testing properties, I had a few "Amprobes"(tong testers) one actually measured up to 1000 amps, but only over AC, piccies later
     
  15. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,966
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    No apologies necessary.....but I've had that meter since 2004. :LOL:
     
Loading...

Share This Page