How to remove Start.iminent help needed

Discussion in 'Computers' started by olley, Jun 9, 2014.

  1. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes Received:
    2,084
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi Guys trying to sort sis-in-law's lappy, everytime you fire up chrome it goes to start.iminent which is redirect site. Tried all the usual things, remove from extensions, and search engines, reboot chrome and its back again. Doesn't show up on remove programmes. Doesn't show up as a folder in programmes.

    Have run malwarebytes, no effect, its got kaspersky virus protection. Search the web but all the answers require you to spend money. Any ideas? about from reinstall?

    Ian
     
  2. Gizmouk

    Gizmouk Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Essex
  3. Gizmouk

    Gizmouk Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Essex
    You could also try Spybot Search and Destroy:
    [ame="http://download.cnet.com/Spybot-Search-Destroy/3000-8022_4-10122137.html"]Spybot - Search & Destroy - Free download and software reviews - CNET Download.com[/ame]



    - not sure why this forum is blocking the link to download Spybot <sigh>

    Google Spybot Search and Destroy download
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2014
  4. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
  5. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes Received:
    2,084
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Tried them all, still comes up in the address bar when you boot chrome, time to give up I think and suggest to them that I run the recovery partition. Apart from Malbytes which came up with over 2500 pup's, another program came up with nearly same after malbytes had deleted the ones it found, but wouldn't delete them unless I crossed the palm with 30 pieces of silver.

    Ian
     
  6. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
  7. Billy23

    Billy23 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    2,770
    Location:
    On a planet...far, ....far away.
    All I can suggest is got to control panel, uninstall program's and look for the bad tool bar.....and others, then uninstall one at a time.
     
  8. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19,809
    Likes Received:
    35,861
    Location:
    Leicestershire
  9. Serendipitous

    Serendipitous Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    Devizes
    Hi

    Not sure about chrome but with IE. Similar symptoms are caused by the default URL that has been book marked. That is the default site like I have set up several tabs to open automatically when opening IE.

    Thinking about it what device are you using Tablet or PC?
     
  10. Serendipitous

    Serendipitous Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    Devizes
    Ok

    Reread the post and it's a PC, sorry

    Anyone know if chrome (PC) has a settings tab where you can set the default opening page?

    My IPAD. Opens at the google search page.

    May be worth clearing all history and cookies
     
  11. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes Received:
    2,084
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Far righthand side up the top, three horizontal bars, click them and select settings which is near the bottom. You will see "On Start Up" in the displayed menu.

    Ian
     
  12. thraxugrut

    thraxugrut Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Irlam, Manchester
  13. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    I had the same thing on my pc, frustrating or what:cry: and tried all of the above but without any luck... after lots an lots of research i came across RogueKiller which did the job - you have to be aware though that even though it removes it there may still be traces of it for a few days after - but if you keep running RogueKiller for them few more days it eventually clears them all :thumb:
    http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/
     
  14. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes Received:
    2,084
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Thanks but I have given up and bought a restore disk of Amazon, tried to restore it back to factory, but the restore partition doesn't exist according to the built in restore software, even though it does. :Doh:

    Ian
     
  15. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    try to download roguekiller its free (or was when i down loaded it) you got nothing to loose :Smile:
     
  16. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes Received:
    2,084
    Location:
    Ipswich
    mistake

    Ian
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2014
Loading...

Share This Page