How to convert *.axe into *.ov2 files

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by bushman51, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. bushman51

    bushman51 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mainly France
    A question for the tech nerd (and everybody else who thinks to know the solution): How can I convert *.axe files (AutoRoute 2010) into *.ov2 (TomTom) files?

    POI converter 4.08 is unfortunately not able to do the job (probably because POI converter 4.08 is from 2008, but my files from 2010).

    Thanks for your ever so appreciated support!
     
  2. ian81

    ian81 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    try searching for and downloading ITN Converter or GPSU -both will read .axe files (Autoroute)
     
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
  4. bushman51

    bushman51 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mainly France
    Thanks - more suggestions?

    Nope! ITN doesn't recognize my *.axe file whereas GPSU (trial version) only opens a file with not more than 250 pushpins. After travelling for some years, I have slightly more than that ;-)

    GPS Babel is only available for OS X and Linux, not for Windows.

    Thanks to both of you, anyway!


    ==> Any more suggestions, anybody?
     
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    GPS Babel download for windows 1.3.6 zip

    http://www.gpsbabel.org/download.html
     
  6. activecampers

    activecampers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Heathrow
  7. Braunston

    Braunston Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi,

    If none of the other suggestions or links work, it may be worth exporting from AR2010 in GPX format then trying to convert the GPX file to OV2. export in GPX format is found under "Data"

     
  8. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    You need a piece of free software known as TYRE (Trace Your Route Everywhere)

    http://www.janboersma.nl/gett/

    This is probably the best piece of <FREE> GPS software out there.

    Can't say whether it will solve your problem, but it's an excellent piece of kit.

    I have no connection with the coder or the product.
     
  9. Autoquest

    Autoquest Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Small EU backwater
  10. bushman51

    bushman51 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mainly France
    This sounded tempting, I therefore did as you said, I exported my pushpins from AutoRoute and gave it the extension *.gpx. But now, how do I convert this newly created *.gpx file into *.ov2 ? Tricky, ain't it?


    Sorry, mate, no way to open an *.axe file in TYRE!
     
  11. bushman51

    bushman51 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mainly France
  12. bushman51

    bushman51 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mainly France
    You're right, it's downloadable, although that the page says "not available". Weird.. I'll try to do the job later as I only have a mobile Internet connection (3G is still too slow for this).
     
  13. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    Although the page says Not Available, I pressed the Setup.exe button, and it downloaded fine.

    Did you try the TYRE proggy?
     
  14. bushman51

    bushman51 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mainly France
    I downloaded the latest version (1.4.0) of Babelfish, installed and tried it. It doesn't to the job.
     
  15. activecampers

    activecampers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Heathrow
    As I mentioend, the version of POI converter you have does convert Autoroute 2010. Maybe your original file is corrupt/iffy or may have somethign weird preventing conversion. I convert AR2010 and TomTom using the same sw you have.
     
  16. TonyIsh UK

    TonyIsh UK Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Its a long time since I played with Autoroute, butI seem to think I cut the pushpins from AR2010 and pasted into AR2007. Then used POI convert.

    Messy but I think it worked !

    Could be wrong ! Memory plays tricks !

    Rgds
     
  17. bushman51

    bushman51 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mainly France
    No corruption, nothing bad about my *.axe file - POI is simply not opening this file. See the attached error message.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. activecampers

    activecampers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Heathrow
    Ah. Thats down to your security settings on your computer.

    Run it as admin :) (e.g. START-->POI FORMAT CONVERSION then right-click POIConverter and then RUN AS ADMIN)

    I did something to mine to stop it having to do this - maybe permissions on folder?

    But it does work if you run as admin.

    Good luck


    ETA: I assume you installed with default settings as well? IIRC the progam doesn't like being installed in other locations - some bad coding somewhere! May well be if there is a "space" or something in folder name. Default settings all the way on this one)
     
  19. bushman51

    bushman51 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mainly France
    That was it! I installed it under C:\program files\POI converter which the program really didn't like. Uninstalled it now, then installed it again in the default directory. Now, I was successful. But now, what do I do with all those (10) files POI conv. created in a separate directory? Well, it's late over here on the continent, I'll check again tomorrow...
     
Loading...

Share This Page