how many miles can I expect

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by enitharmon, Apr 14, 2015.

1. enitharmon

enitharmon Read Only Funster

Hi all

This is my first post and I'm an absolute newbie. I'm looking to buy a starter motorhome on an extremely tight budget, so inevitably I will have to make trade-offs about what I can and can't get. I'm wondering how high up my priority list to put the mileage?

There are many vans going on ebay with mileage well over 100,000, some over 200,000! As a car driver up till now I would be very wary of buying something that was that high, but I'm wondering if 'in general' you can expect more miles out of a motorhome engine? There may be no such thing as in general, but I thought I would garner some opinions if possible.

Thanks in advance

Paul

2. pappajohn

pappajohn Funster Life Member

2.5 turbo diesel.......expect 25 to 28mpg average.

Remember you are driving a slab front vehicle with the aerodynamics of a house brick.

3. pappajohn

pappajohn Funster Life Member

Sorry, misunderstood your question...thought you meant MPG.

100,000 miles for a motorhome is unusual unless its rather old.

As long as they are properly and regularly serviced Modern diesels run for ever near enough.

4. chaser

chaser Funster

Think he ment total mileage not mpg, which doesn't make a lot of difference, it's how it's been looked after

• Like Like x 1
  5. enitharmon

Ha! Sorry but I'm not asking about mpg, I'm asking about miles on the clock: at what point should I consider a motorhome to be too risky a purchase because of how many miles it's done?

Thanks

6. enitharmon

Ah great, thank you that helps! At the moment I feel that the basics I need covered are MOT, service history, and the basic amenities I'm after (cooker / shower etc). Bearing in mind I may as well be a skint student (though I'm too old for that:)), would you agree that these are the crucial things?

7. chaser

chaser Funster