Free Member
Jul 12, 2012
Shanklin
Funster No
MH
Researching
Exp
Ex-caravanner, looking for campervan
Hi all, I'm a newbie here looking to acquire a motorhome/campervan. I've caravanned in the past (sold it 2 years ago), but now I'd like a campervan, and have put together a list of requirements (below).

I live on the Isle of Wight, so ferry fares are important, and 6m length is a big price-beak point. I also want to be able to tow a boat, including launching and recovering it, which can involve pulling it up a wet slipway, so towing power and grip are important.

Essential:

Panel van based - I need to also use it as normal vehicle
RWD - to tow boat and haul out of the water
SWB or MWB, LOA <6m - ferry fares rise for longer vehicles
Min. 4 belted seats (inc. driver)
6ft headroom, hi-top (pop-top?)
2 people - double berth
Cassette toilet & basin - hand shower? (not fussed about full shower)
Hob, no oven
Fridge
Heating

Nice to have:

4WD - better for hauling a boat up a slipway
Swivel front seats - max use of space
Removable fittings - ability to use as van
Option to make up as 2 berths instead of double
Automatic transmission
Cruise control

Budget:

Used, ideally under £15k
Absolute max £20k for something special

Options:

Factory conversion
Buy van and get professional conversion
Buy van and DIY - maybe using kit
Some combination of above

It seems that RWD restricts me to a Sprinter or Transit (which come in FWD & RWD). Or are there any others?

So can anyone offer advice on the best way of getting what I'm looking for - and is it even achievable?

Many thanks
Rick

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
So can anyone offer advice on the best way of getting what I'm looking for - and is it even achievable?

Many thanks
Rick

There is only one way, on yer bike and visit dealer after dealer with digital camera in hand. Only you can know what home you want to buy.

£15K is plenty for a good van.

Upvote 0

vwalan