How do I find this vehicle?

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by RickJ, Jul 12, 2012.

1. RickJ

RickJ Read Only Funster

Hi all, I'm a newbie here looking to acquire a motorhome/campervan. I've caravanned in the past (sold it 2 years ago), but now I'd like a campervan, and have put together a list of requirements (below).

I live on the Isle of Wight, so ferry fares are important, and 6m length is a big price-beak point. I also want to be able to tow a boat, including launching and recovering it, which can involve pulling it up a wet slipway, so towing power and grip are important.

Essential:

Panel van based - I need to also use it as normal vehicle
    RWD - to tow boat and haul out of the water
    SWB or MWB, LOA <6m - ferry fares rise for longer vehicles
    Min. 4 belted seats (inc. driver)
    6ft headroom, hi-top (pop-top?)
    2 people - double berth
    Cassette toilet & basin - hand shower? (not fussed about full shower)
    Hob, no oven
    Fridge
    Heating

Nice to have:

4WD - better for hauling a boat up a slipway
    Swivel front seats - max use of space
    Removable fittings - ability to use as van
    Option to make up as 2 berths instead of double
    Automatic transmission
    Cruise control

Budget:

Used, ideally under £15k
    Absolute max £20k for something special

Options:

Factory conversion
    Buy van and get professional conversion
    Buy van and DIY - maybe using kit
    Some combination of above

It seems that RWD restricts me to a Sprinter or Transit (which come in FWD & RWD). Or are there any others?

So can anyone offer advice on the best way of getting what I'm looking for - and is it even achievable?

Many thanks
    Rick

2. hilldweller

hilldweller Funster Life Member

There is only one way, on yer bike and visit dealer after dealer with digital camera in hand. Only you can know what home you want to buy.

£15K is plenty for a good van.

3. vwalan

vwalan Funster