zen navigator

Free Member
Mar 27, 2009
Manchester
Funster No
MH
Coach Built
Exp
Going south bound maybe South Downs / Isle of Wight and France(Brittany) in July for 3 weeks, and want to ensure I watch England in the World Cup Final:ROFLMAO:

What is the min. size satellite dish I can get away with.

Also any recommendation for a good portable satellite system.

Dave

barryd

Free Member
Feb 10, 2009
Yorkshire Dales
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Since May 08
Im no expert and have a Camos Dome that works everywhere in Europe. Cost £1400 though. Brittany really isnt that for from England so I would have thought a cheap suitcase job from Aldi, Lidel or Maplin for under £100 would work but I think they are a bit of a faff. A big wind or heavy thunderstorm though and its all over. (no pun intended)

Snowbird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2009
Liverpool.
Funster No
MH
Fifth wheel.
Exp
Since 11-05-2000
Cheap suitcase job will work fine where your going,we have one on the house in Holland,works perfectly.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Z

zen navigator

Free Member
Mar 27, 2009
Manchester
Funster No
MH
Coach Built
Exp
Does it depend how the dish is and I guess how good the receiver is.

So a suitcase system could be ok and also could be no good.

Dave

dellwood33

Free Member
Apr 25, 2009
Newcastle
Funster No
MH
italian crap
Exp
too long
I hope the suitcase jobbies work in Brittany, cos that's what we have and will be off to Northern France in a couple of weeks ::bigsmile:

OP
OP
Z

zen navigator

Free Member
Mar 27, 2009
Manchester
Funster No
MH
Coach Built
Exp
I hope it does it for you.

But I read that 35cm dishes wont get you certain transponders. So all depends if the programme you want is on that transponder.

Also a good receiver will compensate for dish size...I guess.

What make\model is yours?

Dave

I hope the suitcase jobbies work in Brittany, cos that's what we have and will be off to Northern France in a couple of weeks ::bigsmile:

OP
OP
Z