Hot Water boiler .... how to stop it freezing (1 Viewer)

Plinky

Free Member
Dec 21, 2015
UK
Funster No
MH
Westfalia James Cook 2004
Exp
hi , I'm travelling through France and I will be in minus temperatures for a few days. At night I'm leaving the diesel heating on low, but is there anything specific I need to do with my truma gas water heater to stop it's tank freezing, or is the heating in the van normally enough? Thanks for any advice ..... I don't want to spring an ice induced leak.

Apr 27, 2008
Eastbourne East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer low profile
Exp
Since 1972
When I'm away my hot water is on all the time. It doesn't use a lot more gas than having to heat from cold each time you need hot water, it's there on demand and no risk of freezing. The only time I turn it off is when refuelling.

OP
OP
P

Plinky

Free Member
Dec 21, 2015
UK
Funster No
MH
Exp
Thanks for the advice. I'm fairly new to all this. I've turned it on but to a low '30' setting. Hopefully that should do it. My heating is diesel and I only use very little hot water , but as recommended here, it's better to heat the water and use some gas than have any problems, at least until I find some warmer weather. Cheers

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
Switch it to heating AND water!

So have i. Your point is?

Does not stop both being on!
Also in original post he says GAS for water!
... you said to switch IT, ie the Truma to heating and water ... as his heating is diesel he can't switch the Truma to both as it will only be gas (and electric) ... if you hadn't said IT then I wouldn't have responded originally ... :doh:

Munchie

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 28, 2007
Camping Les Vigeres
Funster No
MH
Font Vendôme
Exp
Since 2004