Horse power V's weight

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by oldflemo, May 9, 2013.

1. oldflemo

oldflemo Funster

Hi -hope this question is not considered too stupid but as a total novice to MHs I think we need guidance on this question. What is considered the optimum horse power for a 3.5T motorhome to provide the best fuel economy. We see engines from 100 hp to 150 hp for this weight and haven't got a clue what is best
    Look forward to kind advice
    Ian

• Like Like x 1
  2. knokinonabit

knokinonabit Funster

The best fuel economy comes by lifting your right foot a little off the accellerator, but I would personally be looking at the 130 to 150 bhp engines so that you aren't working them as hard.

Some people will say that 100 bhp is enough, but I like to be able to hold a higher gear without straining the engine or changing up and down gears to much.

3. oldflemo

oldflemo Funster

Thanks for this advice -did immediately draw a positive response from SWMBO in terms of my right foot! We will not consider anything less than 130 bhp
    Thanks again
    Ian

4. duane0001

duane0001 Read Only Funster

Mine is a 2.3 120BHP for 3.3T and I would say its more then enough,
    But its also down to the number of gears and gear ratio, I can happily up and down dale in 6th

5. wivvy's dad

wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

In the words of LJK Setright - Enough is never enough, more than enough is sufficient

• Like Like x 3
  6. dave newell lvs

dave newell lvs Trader-Vehicle Services

Fuel consumption is about much more than BHP/mass. My motorhome weighs in at just over 3 tonnes but could legally be up to 4.2, I also tow a 1000KGs trailer with it and the engine "only" has 103 BHP (well it did once upon a time, with 175,000 KM under its belts I suspect one or two horses may have escaped). Fuel consumption is acceptable and ranges from 22mpg fully loaded with trailer cruising at 60MPH up to 28mpg running solo at 56 mph cruising speed.