Free Member
Jan 15, 2013
East Riding
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie in my second year.
There was a letter in last weeks Honest John column that I found a little unsettling.

The basics of the letter are this; Man lays up his MH from October to April. He doesn't service it before lay up. Starts up MH in April and engine stalls then will not restart. Mechanic tell Man that the timing belt has slipped and that its gonna cost 3K to fix/ rebuild engine.

Honest Johns answer was; You should have serviced van before Lay up. That this is a common problem with vans that are not frequently used as condensation and oil impurities while laid up will cause to happen. Vans are meant to work hard for four years so are not built to do low mileage and used infrequently.

So my question is this, How many of the MHF community have had trouble like this? What are the lay up procedures you follow? How often do you run your engine if your laid up? Should I be bothered by this letter and his answer?

Ah that's not one question is it more like four...:Blush:

Your thought on the subject anyone?

Snowbird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2009
Liverpool.
Funster No
MH
Fifth wheel.
Exp
Since 11-05-2000
Two alternatives here. Use the van all year round or buy a Mercedes with no silly rubber band to worry about.

Jaws

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 26, 2008
Thetford Norfolk
Funster No
MH
C class, Chieftain
Exp
since 2006 ( I think ! )
Or find a mechanic who does not talk out his bum........... :thumb:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

paulmold

Free Member
Jun 15, 2009
North Wales
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
7 year (25yrs a tugger)
Not the first time I've heard of this. There has been a thread on outandabout website on the same subject only that one was on a van only 11 months old.

oldun

Free Member
Mar 23, 2008
St Neots
Funster No
MH
VW Campervan
Exp
Since 2001
So is it a likely problem or just another myth?