Home wifi signal

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by pappajohn, Jan 30, 2016.

  1. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,872
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    We have a BThub4 at home.
    If I connect to the hub I quite often get a weak wifi signal with a transfer rate of less than 60mb and a few drop outs.
    If I connect to the BT wifi with fon signal, part of BTs free wifi network intended for public access, I get a strong and reliable signal and 72mb transfer rate.
    Problem with fon there is no security.
    Why should this be when both signals eminate from the same hub ?
    Screenshot_2016-01-30-12-37-34.png Screenshot_2016-01-30-12-36-47.png
     
  2. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    3,396
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    60 mbs a weak signal???????
     
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    just a guess.. but I suspect there will be two different wifi signals with different strengths,

    one for the Home network and the other stronger signal for Fon public network..


    I have the BT Homehub5 .. and have 5 bars on most kit

    both your signals look weak .. one bar and two bars ..
    how far are you from the router ?
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,872
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Next room.....20ft maybe.
    30" wall between rooms.

    My old AOL router was brilliant compared to this BT shite.
    We have had to put a wifi repeater upstairs
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,205
    Likes Received:
    9,587
    Location:
    Dorset
    the bt and fon signals are on different channels. if the bt channel is conflicted, which happens with bluetooth or other wireless devices operating nearby, then the signal is degraded
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,872
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Wifi channel selector is set to auto so it SHOULD select the best/clearest channel.
    I have tried selecting various channels manually but no better.
     
  7. sdc77

    sdc77 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,476
    Likes Received:
    2,884
    Location:
    East london
    Sorry... you just activated my AOL filter. :)
     
  8. Neilfg

    Neilfg Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    456
    Location:
    Bucks
    Have you tried disabling the btwifi sharing, so no BT fon available. Then see what that does to your WiFi signal strength?
     
  9. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,530
    Likes Received:
    25,647
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    Are you just showing off how fast your connection is, Mr PJ?

    Screenshot_2016-01-30-14-34-24.png

    Mind you... I am in the middle of nowhere...

    JJ :cool:
     
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,872
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    I wish jj. :cry:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,872
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Cant find anywhere in hub manager to do that....is it possible ?
     
  12. Neilfg

    Neilfg Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    456
    Location:
    Bucks
    Must admit do not know, I used a Draytek rather than the BT hub. Sure it must be possible somehow, puzzling stats so be nice to find a reason :)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. sdc77

    sdc77 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,476
    Likes Received:
    2,884
    Location:
    East london
    I believe you have to log on to the bt website account and disable the fon sharing there by opting out. It then will eventually stop.

    Used to love Draytek routers but nowadays find tp link better.
     
  14. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,872
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Now that rings a bell, to quote quasimodo.

    Thing is, by opting out do you also opt out of the free bt wifi roaming scheme....which I use a lot for general browsing out and about.
    I though to use it you had to agree to allow part of your bandwidth to be used for public (BT) access
     
  15. sdc77

    sdc77 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,476
    Likes Received:
    2,884
    Location:
    East london
    I believe you are correct .. You're out of it all
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. Neilfg

    Neilfg Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    456
    Location:
    Bucks
    I was only suggesting to try it to see if when off the stats changed.

    When i used bt i never shared, did not use hub, but still got access so not sure it will affect access.
     
  17. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    34,407
    Location:
    kent
    We binned our BT hub 3 because it wouldn't work with our Amazon Fire stick thing. My wife researched it and we bought a router off Amazon which had good reviews. Our download speed went from about 22 to 30 in an instant.

    The BT hubs are crap.

    Not sure if that helps.
     
  18. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,872
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    That is worth considering Chris.

    Are set up instructions for BT parameters easy to find ?
     
  19. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    34,407
    Location:
    kent
    My wife did it all in no time at all John.

    I know she had to connect it to a computer to instal it but it was really quick and simple.

    We chucked both the BT hub and the white fon box.

    I am away at the moment but I can let you know the make and model if you want when we get home.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  20. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,564
    Likes Received:
    11,543
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
Loading...

Share This Page