home network

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Munchie, Oct 6, 2013.

  1. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,531
    Likes Received:
    11,669
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    I am trying to set up a home network on my windows 7 lappie so that we can both use our Nexus 7's by connecting (via wi fi) to the web via it.

    Pffft struggling any help please.

    (the reason is that the lappie is on a wi fi ariel which will not work with the Nexus) :Blush:
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2013
  2. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    34,449
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Not sure what you mean by "home network" Ken. As far as I can remember (long time since I looked at it in detail) Workgroups and Homegroups within Windows only include Windows PCs and peripherals physically connected to them. Nexus tablets don't qualify.

    I think what you need is a hub/router connected to the wifi system. Your laptop and tablets then connect to the Internet through the hub/router.
     
  3. freelanderuk

    freelanderuk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    541
    Location:
    Saltfleet/Lincolnshire
    • Like Like x 1
  4. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,432
    Likes Received:
    25,108
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Did you see the thread a week or so ago that gave a "proper" solution to this. No extra software to load, no need for laptop when not using it.

    WiFi aerial to Internet --> router re-transmits ---> up to 5 or 7 computers.



    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/R36-Wirel...036NHR-AWUS036NH-Range-Extender-/261122412822

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1000mW-US...SB_Wi_Fi_Adapters_Dongles&hash=item3cce1d9a7a

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/window-mo...SB_Wi_Fi_Adapters_Dongles&hash=item5899a0428e
     
  5. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,531
    Likes Received:
    11,669
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Thanks Brian, internet been off n on for last month so missed a lot. Just looking at options at the moment the 3 deal looks good if they bring in France and Spain :thumb:
     
  6. Wissel

    Wissel Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    323
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Hi, if you have a wired internet connection to your laptop you can use your laptop as a hotspot (as long as you have a wireless card installed) without any further software.

    Here is a video that shows what to do:

    [ame]http://youtu.be/5EPHgWonJps[/ame]

    If you are getting the internet on your laptop via a wireless signal, say from a 3G card you can do exactly the same as above.

    Basically, you can only have one network running through a single WiFi device. If your laptop has built in WiFi and you have a 3G dongle this is two devices so the dongle receives a signal and your laptop card transmits a signal.

    If you are using the wireless card in your laptop to receive the internet then you need a separate WiFi device to transmit your new network. A cheap USB WiFi dongle from Ebay will do this fine.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. ShiftZZ
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    284

Share This Page