Hiring to tour Austria/Switzerland - complete novice (1 Viewer)

R

RobC

Deleted User
Hi Everyone :Smile:

I have never even sat in a motorhome before, let alone holidayed in one so I need very basic advice and information.

My wife and I together with our two young children (10 and 7 years) are considering a week (or maybe two) touring Austria and/or Switzerland next August.

I would really welcome any basic advice on hiring a motorhome, simple do's and don'ts, likely costs of hire and sites. We would probably fly to either Munich or Geneva and pick up the motor home down there as we won't have time to drive all the way - also I'm guessing a RHD vehicle is probalbly best anyway.

Any help and advice would be greatfully received. Many thanks in advance.

Rob

Peter JohnsCross MH

Funster
Deceased RIP
Jan 5, 2008
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
Hi,

You are very unlikely to be able to hire a RHD on the continent or did you mean LHD?

Part of the fun of a motorhome holday is getting there, crossoing the Channel, funsters on here will be able to advise you as to routes to Austia and Switzerland.

If you want to hire from UK, best to book well in advance for August, we get booked solid for that period.

Peter

Upvote 0

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
hi rob and welcome to the FUN...

type "motorhome hire in austria" into your search engine.
quite a few listed.
expect to pay around 100euro per day plus any setup fees, mileage fees and insurance for a 4 berth C class (bed over cab).

for switzerland you will need a special permit to use motorways but these are available at the border and fuel stations approaching the border and can be bought to cover a few of days to a full year depending what you want.

hope it works out for you....

john.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
OP
OP
R

RobC

Deleted User
Hi Peter