Hiring a Motor Home - France road trip 2016 :) (1 Viewer)

JKSara

Free Member
May 17, 2016
Kendal, The Lake District
Funster No
MH
Hiring one this Summer
Exp
First time
Hi,

Firstly, I am a complete newbie here, so be gentle please. ;)

We've decided to hire a motor home for our summer hols this year, its booked for 2 weeks in August and although we have been to France lots, we have always stayed in statics with Al Fresco/Keycamp, etc either Vendee or the south St Raphael area and once a long time ago Argeles. Has anyone any tips for a route south from Dover, where to visit, where to stop, what to see, etc, etc....

Open to any suggestions, and advice as to whether we need to book campsites or should we just see where we end up? We do want to have at least week somewhere near the beach too probably on the Med, Frejus, Argeles, somewhere like that but totally open to suggestion. I suspect we will have to definitely book that part as I know what it's like down there in August...!! Or are there smaller sites that we could just turn up at...

I have just ordered the North and South Aires books, so hopefully that will have some ideas in too, and considering the France-Passion thing too...

Sorry if that's a load of questions but we are proper novices to the motor home thing so a big thanks in advance. The idea was to try it before we buy one and do this thing a whole lot more often.

Cheers,

Jonathan & Sara & Katie (15)

Jenben

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 19, 2015
Uk
Funster No
MH
Hymer Exsis I
Exp
Since 2007
Hello and welcome. You will get loads of advice and information on the forum. My first piece of advice ( after of course subscribing ) is to not be over ambitious on your plans, go with the weather, avoid spending lots of time driving so you can enjoy your rental van.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
HI...