Hi Guys... Any chance of some advice? (1 Viewer)

Paul W

Free Member
Feb 23, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello, My name is Paul W, and I'm looking to buy my first camper van this year.
At the moment, I drive a Citreon Dispatch van which is just great for my bikes, kayaks and climbing gear, and can just about manage to sleep me, my GF and my dog on short weekend trips.

I want to buy my first camper van, and have scoured ebay and local sales for something suitable, but I am on a limted budget - at most £7000.

I will also need it to be economical enough to run as my main vehicle for work, and since I do a fair amount of city driving, it will need to be small enough - so a VW T4/T5 or Vivaro type van is about as big as I can go.

Pop top would be good, as I am tall, but I also need a roofrack to take 2 kayaks. I've seen some pics of brackets on pop tops (Camper Conversions of Torbay have one on their website), but I am concerned whether the lid could take the 60kg extra weight of two kayaks ? Can anyone advise ?

Anything particular I should look out for ?

Thanks for any help.

Paul

rainbow chasers

Free Member
Oct 30, 2009
Mid Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Various
Exp
£7k is a tight budget for a camper that you want to use as a daily driver.

You should be able to pick up a Hiace import for that which will do the job well, these can be sourced between 5-7k. I think the Nissan Elgrand may peak over slightly.

Bongos as within your bracket - but a little thirstly for their size (do less than a c-class!) and have 3000 mile oil change intervals.

There are other ways, but that would mean it being an additional vehicle and one that you may not have access to every weekend, but again, that would peak your just over your budget although it would cost you nothing else.

normanandsue

Free Member
Dec 31, 2010
Dunfermline - Scotland
Funster No
MH
van conversion
Exp
Since 2007