Help with X250 handbrake required

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Autowbars, Mar 17, 2016.

  1. Autowbars

    Autowbars Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    291
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Hello, does any know how to adjust handbrake on Fiat X250 base with ALKO chassis.
    Lunar Roadstar 2008.
     
  2. Jimbohorlicks

    Jimbohorlicks Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    822
    Location:
    Cheshire
    You can adjust the brake cable from under your van just before the cable split to the rear wheels there is a threaded rod with an adjusting turnbuckle on it. You van adjust the cable length here. Just note though that when the rear shoes are replaced you will need to loosen this back off.
     
  3. berni109

    berni109 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    worcester
    Do u want to adjust leaver travel or brake pad adjustment?
    Leaver as above - shoes through a hole in the disk when the wheel is off. The center of the rear disk is a small brake drum.
    Well it is on a standard X250.
    Hth
     
  4. Autowbars

    Autowbars Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    291
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    On last years MOT it stated in an advisory that there was little reserve travel on the handbrake, so thought I had better give it a bit of adjustment.

    By the way, it has always been CRAP, as have most of previous MHs.
     
  5. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    2,690
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Check Fiats adjustment info first. The handbrake auto-adjusts in use so all you are able to do is take up cable stretch - and if you go too far the auto-adjust can't work.
     
  6. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,854
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    [​IMG]
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. dave newell lvs

    dave newell lvs Trader-Vehicle Services

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    3,312
    Location:
    Telford, Shropshire
    With handbrakes you should always adjust the wheel end first. Slack off the cable a bit and with handbrake off and rear wheels removed adjust the handbrake shoes as indicated in Techno's picture above until wheel is locked then back off the adjuster till the wheel just turns freely. Once all rear wheels are adjusted you can then adjust the cable to give the required lever travel.

    D.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. Autowbars

    Autowbars Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    291
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    That ALKO type adjustment is just what trailers have with ALKO brake drums.
    Had not looked at them up to now, but if that is the braking system it is CRAP and frightening.
    Did not realise that the ALKO chassis had that.
    Must take more care when buying.
     
  9. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,854
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Its not Alko. They are Fiats brakes that Alko fit.
    Exactly the same on a panel van
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Autowbars

    Autowbars Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    291
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Certainly adjust as ALKO at rear of drum etc, thanks for the help.
    Must get my aged body under it in the morning.
    Hate paying for easy to remedy situations.
     
  11. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,854
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Alko make the chassis, the axle, the shock absorbers and the modified handbrake cables.
    All other parts you order from the Base vehicle maker whether Fiat Peugeot or Citroen.(y)
     
  12. Autowbars

    Autowbars Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    291
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Thanks Andy
     
  13. bungy

    bungy Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    4,127
    Location:
    Welsh marches
    Ive just had to do a similar thing on my rear brakes - thanks to the last service doing a shortcut on setting the brakes - that short cut is just nipping up the nuts underneath which resulted in the need for new shoes....

    You really need to do as Dave has said above and start from the wheels and do the whole procedure

    Attached the instructions

    It takes patience to get the rear shoes set right and you have to lift both wheels at the same time in my recent experience
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 18, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  14. Autowbars

    Autowbars Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    291
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Thank you bungy
     
  15. bungy

    bungy Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    4,127
    Location:
    Welsh marches
    Your welcome(y)

    The patience bit is once setting the shoes full on using the star nut inside the hub, the manual says turn back 5 turns +-1 to give the right clearance,this bit really depends on the state of the shoes and make I think. and clearance is a relative term as well. After loads of searching i found a guide that said turn back until there is some drag but the wheel will stop after 1 full free turn/spin (@dave newell lvs could probably explain better than I can :))

    When re tightening the nut in the last bit - dont over do it as you can ruin the faffing about with the starnut!! I ended up borrowing a torgue spanner to do it as per the guide rather than using guess work.

    Just remember that each shoe is pivoted in the middle on a metal pin and the starnut adjusts one end whilst the cable adjustment nut does the other, and its the later end which is moved by the handbrake so over doing either may not help!!

    For info - I changed the pins and springs as well as the shoes (£10 from brakeparts on eBay), the original pins that hold the shoe in place was stretched because the brakes had been set wrong and were binding so putting stress on them.

    Good luck with it (y) - im off to finish changing the throttle body now...8 yrs an nothing gone wrong on the van and in the last few weeks its none stop!!
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2016
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    2,690
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Spot on!
     
  17. Autowbars

    Autowbars Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    291
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Done it just over an hour with all your help
    The wheel type adjustment is just like ALKO brakes on trailers.
    Cable adjustment was simple as all greased up and NOT sized
    Sneezed, seeeeezed, bloody auto correct!

    Very little adjust needed, I think it is just as I have found on previous MHs the handbrake is CRAP
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,854
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    I did mine 3 yrs ago and it is still passing MOT's 4250kg The brakes are fine IMHO. The shoes should not wear at all if adjusted correctly so now you are in a good position having done it right to only need to take up cable stretch.
    Where my van is stored I never have the handbrake on and I'm sure that helps.
     
  19. Autowbars

    Autowbars Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    291
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    I too on site, mostly, and in storage never leave handbrake on.
    On our hire trailers when in yard never have them on either.
    Neither does my LANDROVER as it is a right pain to replace shoes on prop operated drum and cable.
     
  20. PeteH

    PeteH Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    2,171
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Yup, Mine wont hold on levelling blocks without Chocking!. Even My old R-V with a Shaft brake was better than that!!

    Pete
     
Loading...

Share This Page