Help with Micro SD Card

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Gonewiththewind, Dec 14, 2011.

  1. Gonewiththewind

    Gonewiththewind Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Here is one I am struggling with. I recently upgraded my android reader with a larger card , from 2 to 8 gb.
    The problem occurred when i came to delete all the stuff off the 2 gb card. " The Card is locked read only".
    I have tried always of unlocking. Sharing, formatting but nothing works.
    Any suggestion would be appreciated.

    Don
     
  2. Craig Rogers

    Craig Rogers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    411
    Location:
    Midlands, UK (Welsh!)
    Common problem with factory provided MicroSD cards. Have you tried Formatting on a PC with an adapter?
     
  3. golly

    golly Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    1,978
    Location:
    Co Durham
    Is it not just the little swich on the side of the card is in the locked position. Im not sure but I think if you format the disc all of the data on it will be lost.

    Don't knpw why Im trying to advise on Technology, I'm still in the steam age :Rofl1:

    John
     
  4. Craig Rogers

    Craig Rogers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    411
    Location:
    Midlands, UK (Welsh!)
    MicroSD doesn't have the switch which is a pain. It's too small to have it.
     
  5. Gonewiththewind

    Gonewiththewind Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Lancashire
    That's where i get the message

    Thanks

    Don
     
  6. Gonewiththewind

    Gonewiththewind Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Lancashire
    as stated, the Micro doesn't have the switch.The reason for formating is to get rid of old data

    Thanks Don
     
  7. Craig Rogers

    Craig Rogers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    411
    Location:
    Midlands, UK (Welsh!)
    Hmm, bit of a long shot, but open the card properties and show all files, including hidden and system files. Then select all the files and make sure that none are set to read only.

    See if that helps.
     
  8. Craig Rogers

    Craig Rogers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    411
    Location:
    Midlands, UK (Welsh!)
  9. Gonewiththewind

    Gonewiththewind Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Good try Craig , but no. Starts the process then pops up and says "This media is write protected.".
    Looks like a bin job.
    I was hoping to use it in my Nikon, but even that rejects it,

    Thanks for your help.

    Don
     
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,447
    Likes Received:
    16,876
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
  11. Gonewiththewind

    Gonewiththewind Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Lancashire
    • Like Like x 1
  12. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,228
    Likes Received:
    34,406
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Looks like the card is corrupted. Have you, inadvertently, removed it from a device when the device is switched on? I did that with a Micro SD card in my phone and fried it.
     
  13. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,447
    Likes Received:
    16,876
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Fair comment :thumb:
     
  14. Craig Rogers

    Craig Rogers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    411
    Location:
    Midlands, UK (Welsh!)
    If it was the original MicroSD then it maybe protected at the factory to try and stop people accidentally deleting files. It's a common problem.

    Just out of interest, does the Andriod let you format it?
     
  15. Gonewiththewind

    Gonewiththewind Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Sorry Craig, cannot confirm Androids availability to format, however when new card was placed in it automatically transferred all the information.
    I an unable to do further check as it was sold. Hence the reason for wanting to re-use the micro.
    Think I will just take Johns advice and bin it.

    Thanks for all your help

    Don
     
Loading...

Share This Page