Help with Cobra alarm

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by lorger, Feb 15, 2014.

  1. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Hi folks I have a cobra alarm fitted to our MH and I have forgot how to set it so we can be inside with the sensors disabled while the door alarm is still active.
    I have tried a few combinations of turning the key and pressing the button on dash. I did get it to work but forgot what combination I'd used :Rofl1::Rofl1:

    I can't remember the model number but I'm sure it started with a G
     
  2. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    Have you got 2 buttons on the fob?

    If so press the lock button then press the other button within 30 secs to disable the internal sensors.

    Hope this works.

    John
     
  3. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Will give it a go in the morning as the neighbours might not be to happy if I try just now :Rofl1:
    I seem to remember having to press the button on the dash for something.
     
  4. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
    Yep, I'm with Lunarman on this:thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
    Ah, yes, on later can bus systems you need to turn the ignition on- then off-press the button on the dash - then set the alarm.
    I have both sets of instructions if you need them.
     
  6. Larby

    Larby Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    3,874
    Location:
    North Essex
    And me

    Lock with large button, press once on little button within 40 seconds to disable movement sensor, else dog sets off alarm when we leave him!
     
  7. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Hi thanks for the reply it was fitted in 2010, when you say turn on then off and set the alarm do you mean as John says with the fob.

    Thanks again Gerry
     
  8. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
    Just seen what van you've got!
    PM me your e- mail or address & I'll send the instructions
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2014
  9. Dixi

    Dixi Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Wyton,Huntingdon
    I have a cobra alarm to disable the interior sensors press the lock key on your fob a second time within 5 seconds you should then hear some beeps and it will then be set

    John
     
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,953
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    it appears from other replies the sequence is model dependant....some say press arm twice, others say press arm them small button and another to turn on ign, press arm then the dash button.

    Find the correct model and you will get the correct answer
    if it does begin G then it will be a G193 or G198 or G368

    The G193 has bango shaped fobs...
    The G368 has square fobs
    The G198 balloon shaped fobs
     
  11. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
    Not quite, it's different with a can bus system & original key fob.
     
  12. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,953
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Only one model with canbus compatibility mentioned on Cobra's website and thats the 4600 series.

    I can only post as i find. :Smile:
     
  13. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
    Yes, had a few vans with Cobra's & have kept copies of the instructions, all different.
     
  14. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
    If it helps here is a picture of my fob
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Larby

    Larby Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    3,874
    Location:
    North Essex
    And pictures of mine, may not be alarmed the same. My manual is not here, I seem to recall I was instructed to press button on dash but mine works as previously mentioned
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  16. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    673
    Location:
    Bristol
    Mine's the same as this. Have never figured out how to set the alarm and leave the dog inside. :Doh:
    Would love instructions on how to disable the internal sensors. :thumb:
     
  17. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,953
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    according to the cobra website that belongs to a G193...basic entry level alarm.
     
  18. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
    I have tried a few of your suggestions and have it working
    Turn ign off lock with fob then press button on dash and I managed to walk about for 5 mins without it going off.

    Papajohn I assume a basic entry you would think it wouldn't have the internal movement sensors but mine does and if you don't set it they go off with in a minute. When I purchased the MH they demonstrated it working I had just forgot.
     
  19. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,953
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    yes, that one has motion sensors....its listed as a basic modular alarm.

    Im only going by the fobs shown with each alarm on cobra site.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
    Did you get them Lorger?
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2014
Loading...

Share This Page