Help with Aldi sat system

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by lorger, May 28, 2009.

  1. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Hi
    I bought one of the satelite dish and receivers from Aldi last week and finally got round to trying it out i have read the thread on it but still stuck. I can get 78% signal but no quality at all. I have even set the dish up pointing the same way as one on my house. I have also plugger receiver into house dish and got 614 channels so can anyone help me as 2 of us spent 3 hours and no joy.

    Gerry
     
  2. ralph-dot

    ralph-dot Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Billingham
    You are probably pointing the dish too high, that is usually the main problem.
     
  3. ralph-dot

    ralph-dot Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Billingham
  4. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    Sounds like you are not on satellite. I get 95% & 74% in the UK anything less wil not get a stable picture.

    Could be on the wrong satellite, it's a very small distance between Astra 1 & Astra 2

    Keith
     
  5. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    Just noticed you are in Dumfries & this is what Ralf was talking about.

    Make sure the dish is set at vertical. This is normal in Scotland. :Doh:

    If you still have problems drive to Ecclefechan and I'm sure we can show you how to do it :BigGrin:
     
  6. ralph-dot

    ralph-dot Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Billingham
    The dish should be at a right angle to the ground (straight up and down (just about anyway)).
     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,966
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    if you are pointing at the wrong satellite you will still get a signal on your satfinder but your reciever wont understand the signal.

    astra 2 is at 28.2 deg east and astra 1 is at 19.2 deg east so not much in it. and the elevation up there should be around 22degrees i think.

    have a look at this website HERE
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2009
  8. sinbad1

    sinbad1 Deleted User


    Your right, most common error when you first setup is to angle the dish skyward,

    gerryhughes.

    not sure if you have read this thread may help click here

    regards
     
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,966
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Sinbad

    hi sinbad,
    just noticed your other post. (linked from this one) re: wrong sat

    it had changed before i scanned.....i only have astra2 tuned into the reciever and set up as normal but no signal on the tv.....good signal on the finder.
    never thought about it being set on the wrong one.
    if i'd known i would have done as you said and swapped sats in the reciever.

    i have all my usual channels in a favorites folder. :thumb:

    dont think thats the problem here though as he gets a picture if connected to the house dish.:thumb:
     
  10. sinbad1

    sinbad1 Deleted User

    Yea its just alignment, his house sky dish would be set correct and hence pick up the channels.
    shows the receiver is working though:BigGrin:

    john did you scan all sats?(you may get other channels to add to your fav)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 28, 2009
  11. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Hi
    Thanks for all the reply i thought i had it nearly vertical but i will try again. I might take you up on the offer of comming to see you keith. We are planning on going to Garliston this sat so if anyone is there with a sat system i will be chapping their door.

    Gerry
     
  12. scran

    scran Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    84
    Location:
    washington
    sat system

    we got one of those from maplins over a year ago still had no joy with it.friends said we will have it up and running in five minutes yes they had same problems and didnt get anything have even sent it back to maplins they said its working ok but still can t get it to work
    :Angry:
     
  13. ralph-dot

    ralph-dot Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Billingham
    I had all these problem at first, gave up several times, before me son (a satellite installer at one time) got it to work and since then, have got better and better at it, sometimes even getting a signal without any adjustment, do not give up anyone.

    Ralph
     
  14. Sundowners

    Sundowners Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346
    Likes Received:
    1,404
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Hi
    we bought one of Aldi's sat systems, I did cheat by setting up the box first, (using our "Multimo" dish, then swapped over to new dish, it only took a few minutes to do, BUT the system showed really strong signal strength even after the wind blew the dish over!!!!!!!! The signal quality takes a little patience (tonight we have a good picture at 36% quality) on Astra 2.
    Move the dish slowly as it takes quite a time to respond, I don't get on too well with the sat finder things, I think it's quicker getting SWMBO to shout at me from inside!!. Are you 200% sure that there is nothing blocking the "view" to the satelite?????????
    The thing that we miss is the programe lists that we got used to on Sky (maybe they on ours, but we have not found them!!)
    Good luck, we can assure you that it DOES work
    Nigel & Pamala
     
  15. Sundowners

    Sundowners Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346
    Likes Received:
    1,404
    Location:
    Suffolk
    BTW I don't remember seeing anything about setting the polarisation angle on the dish,
    I don't know what it would be where you are, but I set mine at 7 o clock (standing in front of the dish and looking at it) once you get a picture you can fiddle with it.
    Nigel
     
  16. derekfaeberwick

    derekfaeberwick Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Berwick
    It is worth persevering for the buzz when you do crack it. Mine's a Lidl one but probably the same with different stickers. Great value! :thumb:
     
  17. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,966
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    no i havent yet.....

    thought about doing it when i get my level parking place back when the guy comes for the caravan on sunday.
    its a bugger setting the dish when the vans on a two plane slope...down at the back and down on the left.

    are there many english speaking FTA channels on astra 1 and hotbird ?
     
  18. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
  19. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,260
    Likes Received:
    34,528
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    As others have said, it is a matter of getting used to it.

    For some reason - probably that I'm reading the compass wrongly - I always seem to start with the dish pointed too close to south and have to move it round further east. Then, when I think I'm on Astra 2 it turns out I'm on Astra 1 and it needs a kick further east again to set up properly.

    There is an audible signal from the box but not usually a lot of use when you're outside the van, so we normally use the Jill shouting at me method of accuracy verification.

    Graham
     
  20. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,966
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
     
Loading...

Share This Page