Help required please with my 2nd hand Rollerteam 600g

Discussion in 'Rollerteam' started by soaps, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. soaps

    soaps Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newton Abbot
    Hi all, just bought last week a 2007 Rollerteam 600g. All seems ok, but my wife has mislaid all the manuals as we're decorating! I have turned the red masterkey on, but seem to have no life at all from the leisure battery. I'm not sure if its flat or if maybe there is a fuse blown? Can i leave the red masterkey on when its plugged into the mains or when you are driving? (How do you charge it!?)
    Also if we want to watch TV while driving, do you need a 12v tv, or can you use a 240v one????
    Sorry but its all new to me!!
     
  2. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Hi soaps

    Welcome to fun

    I dont have the same van but when i put my ignition on the 12v in the back turns off also i have a switch to change the 12v from Veh to Les battery and i also have a master switch near the habitation door that turns everything off and on so have a look at this first. As for leaving it key on when on mains im sure folk in here have mentioned its not a good idea but i dont know for sure, i have started my van to move it a few inches while plugged in and all was ok. Watching tv on the move firstly you would need a 12v tv and a in motion sat system so the passengers could view it i think they are about £1500 ish.

    Hope this helps if any more questions please ask.
     
  3. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,544
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    I suspect we have a terminoligy error:Eek!:
    "Red Master Key" is your main ignition/starter key if you have a Fiat of certain year manufacter
    I think your talking red master switch:thumb:
    Not picking holes in your first post, just trying to clarify:Wink:
    Geo
     
  4. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,070
    Likes Received:
    13,679
    Location:
    Heavan
    Continental vans do not normally cut power to the habitation area when driving. Our present van doesnt (Adria) and our past one which was the CI (same as rollerteam) never.

    You will however need either a 12v tv or a small inverter to run a standard TV if you want it to work off hook up. Personally the 12v is best if not more expensive.

    if I think you are asking, can you drive with the master switch on whilst driving ie then giving power to the habitation area then yes you can. if it was a problem they normally override this things for you to prevent it.

    If however you are talking about the red master key that Fiat used to do, Im a little lost.

    Do your electrics work when plugged in? from memory you will need the masters witch turned on. How long since the van was used? could well be a flat leisure battery, plug it in, get it charged, and then unhook and see how it goes. If it's still completely flat and nothing working, most likely a fuse on the control board in the wardrobe (normally) if not and there is a little power that does not last long, then likely to be flat battery.:thumb:


    you will also find manuals and technical help here

    http://www.rollerteammotorhomes.co.uk/media//r/o/roller_team_brochure_a5_1.pdf

    http://www.rollerteammotorhomes.co.uk/index.php/technical-layouts
    Oh and welcome to the forum:thumb:
     
  5. bobandjanie

    bobandjanie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    2,494
    Location:
    UK / Spain
  6. soaps

    soaps Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newton Abbot
    Hi, yes it is the red master switch, not the red ignition key which i guess was a fiat thing?? Its a red plastic cut off switch. I guess i need to put it on while i plug it into the mains for it to charge?? I think it was parked up for a while and i assume although i drove it over 600 miles home, without the masterkey on it wont charge as its not connected?
    Thanks for all your help though everyone, going back to the tv thing just wanted the kids to be able to watch a dvd while driving, i know we used to have a 12v tv in our old caravan (should of kept it!!)
    Lets hope i can find the manuals as i have no idea how to fill with water, when the master key should be on/off, how the heating works etc etc etc!!??
    Having a nightmare!!!
     
  7. Enjoy_Yourself

    Enjoy_Yourself Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Pontypool, South Wales
    You could try a dealer or Roller Team themselves for copies of manuals? Even if they were phtocopies at least you wouldn't be quite as in the dark as you are now.
     
  8. Jill

    Jill Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire
    We had a Rollerteam 500 and you also have to switch the (Lcd) control panel on (as well as the master switch - it's a Ford Transit, is it?). The master switch is used to make sure nothing drains the batteries when it's not being used. We normally left ours on .
    Jill
     
  9. gail

    gail Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    North wales
    Hi soaps, weve got a rollerteam 600 2008 model on a ford tranny chasis. I'll pull out our manuals and try to get a copy of them to you. By email if I can. Anything specific I can copy quickly for you? If this would help just let me know.

    Gail Oh and welcome to motorhome.fun.
     
  10. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    Hi , i had a CI Carioca ( same as Roller team ) the red master was under the drivers seat i used to leave it on all the time ( except in exceptional circumstances ) there is also a press button switch on the control panel that isolates the 12v electrics . this needs to be on. then all should work when hooked up to electrics and just let it charge up.:thumb:
     
  11. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    I suppose it depends how long your hookup cable is:Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:
    Unless you have a small inverter of course.
    whilst an in motion expencive antenna will work, you wouldn't need one to play a DVD for the kids.
    Welcome to the fun and don't take us too seriously. enjoy
    BTW its Quiz night tonight 8pm in the chat room, come and have a laugh.
     
Loading...

Share This Page