Help please!

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Coolbeanz, Apr 16, 2015.

  1. Coolbeanz

    Coolbeanz Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1,369
    Likes Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Capel St Mary
    Hubby isn't happy as the sat dish won't lock on but it did the first day we arrived in Alfaz so he thinks that maybe a fault has occurred. Any ideas? Could the LNB have failed and if so how do we test it?
     
  2. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,782
    Likes Received:
    6,034
    Location:
    Sarth London
    size is everything down here..what dish have you?
     
  3. Coolbeanz

    Coolbeanz Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1,369
    Likes Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Capel St Mary
    It is not the size as it locked on the first day we arrived. We are aware we cannot pick many programmes up this far south but only use for watching Sky News, the fact it worked one day and not the next makes my hubby think there is a problem. It is an Oyster self seeking system.
     
  4. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,782
    Likes Received:
    6,034
    Location:
    Sarth London
    all I know is most seem to end up hiring 1.2 metre dishes....
     
  5. gus-lopez

    gus-lopez Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    4,378
    Likes Received:
    7,965
    Location:
    Lorca,Murcia,Spain
    Tell him it is a practice as when he gets here he definitely won't get anything except sky news on a good day..lol
     
  6. Coolbeanz

    Coolbeanz Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1,369
    Likes Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Capel St Mary
    I'm not sure I made it clear in my original post. Our dish automatically locks on to Astra 2 and the first day we arrived here it worked fine and we watched sky news. On the second day hubby switched it on but the dish just kept rotating and was unable to lock on. That's why we think a fault may be the cause because it worked at this location the first time. :)
     
  7. MikeD

    MikeD Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,976
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Location:
    London
    Hi
    We are down near the beach at Cap Blanch and having the same problem
    Our neighbour had a repair guy visit him for the same problem but lack of language skills stopped me finding what was wrong

    Sorry I can't be more helpful

    Mike and Sandra
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. jumar

    jumar Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1,084
    Location:
    Spain/Notts
    Last couple of days we have had some signal drop, even with a 1.35m dish, a little cloud make all the difference.
    I need to get out and tweek the dish and LNB a little, I can get Internet TV on our system, but try not to use it as our clients on the camperstop need to use it also.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Hogan7777

    Hogan7777 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Valencia, Spain
    All depends on what time of day / temperature and amount of cloud cover. Some days mine locks on other days no chance this is near Valencia. Try Astra 1 if it locks onto that you dont have a problem and they have english news .
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Also depends what frequency the system uses to lock on...
    some have changed in the last few days....
    for example Sky News frequency of 12207 v 27.5 changed its FEC from 2/3 to 5/6, if your systems use FEC
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Coolbeanz

    Coolbeanz Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1,369
    Likes Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Capel St Mary
    All sorted, Glynn phoned Oyster in England who always provide incredible customer service. Nothing is broken, he explained it all to Glynn about why it sometimes won't lock on and he also explained about altering the angle of the LNB depending on which country were in and he recommended getting a high gain LNB when we are back in the UK to avoid this issue. He also said that we should all find it easier from the summer when Astra make changes to the footprint or something like that :Eeek:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. davidbaldam

    davidbaldam Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,878
    Likes Received:
    6,487
    Location:
    Market Harborough
    Glad you got it sorted, I mean to say you really need to keep up with the ground breaking news that is Sky News is know for. :whistle:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    The only thing Astra are going to do this summer is start up a new satellite 2G. Which will not affect the channels or signals or footprints operating on the 2E and 2F satellites... and 2G is expected to be very similar in reception to 2e and 2F so no idea where he gets that idea that things will improve....it will probably remain as it is today...

    or worse if they start to change the FECs on a lot more frequencies, as the newer 5/6 FECs mean lower signal....
     
  14. Coolbeanz

    Coolbeanz Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1,369
    Likes Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Capel St Mary
    All I know is what he told Glynn and he certainly seemed to know his stuff (y)
     
Loading...

Share This Page