Help Please with Installing Kaspersky Internet Security 2015

Discussion in 'Computers' started by steles, Aug 1, 2015.

  1. steles

    steles Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Kent
    I'm hoping there's a computer whizz out there who can advise a computer idiot!:)
    The Kaspersky 2014 on my laptop is due to run out and, being in my late husband's name, is not transferable. I have therefore purchased a Kaspersky 2015 Internet Security 2015 disc to install to replace said 2014.
    Do I have to uninstall the present version of Kaspersky before I can install the new one? If so how do I go about it?
    This and any other advice (in very basic non-techy language, I'm afraid) would be hugely appreciated.
    I'm relying on you Funsters to help me out here.....:)
     
  2. steles

    steles Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Kent
    I need to install this today, or tomorrow at the latest. Has anyone any ideas, please?:)
    can't afford to be without it....
     
  3. Borderland

    Borderland Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    2,130
    Location:
    Borders
    I am not an expert but would have thought that you could install latest version of Kaspersky without uninstalling the present one. If you start the install process you should get a message if you need to uninstall first.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. steles

    steles Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Kent
    Thanks Borderland, that's reassuring. It's a problem that 2014 is in my late husband's name, and I want to make sure it's all in my name now.
     
  5. dryad

    dryad Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    9,268
    Location:
    kent
    if you have kaspersky already installed and have a new disc, presumably it came with the new password(s) too..
    all you need to do is to enter those to renew and update to the new version..
    i don't think it matters who purchased it, mine (kaspersky) ran out on my desktop pc a few months ago, i hadn't been using that particular computer for a while), my daughter purchased the new version for five devices, hers and mine, and i just added the passwords in the boxes to mine, there were four sets of letters and numbers, went through okay and automatically updated to the latest version.. :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. steles

    steles Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Kent
    that's brilliant, dryad. thank you. I feel a lot more confident now..:)
     
  7. steles

    steles Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Kent
    well, the deed is done! have just installed Kaspersky 2015, and it seems to be working ok.... fingers crossed:):)
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page